
VSA 24 (Rev. 01/02)
COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA

DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES

STATEMENT OF AUTHORITY TO ASSIGN TITLE
SEE REVERSE SIDE FOR INSTRUCTIONS

Pursuant to Virginia Law:

This is evidence of my (our) authority to assign title to _________________________________________, motor vehicle
(Make of Vehicle)

bearing identification number ____________________________________________________, now titled in the name of

(Name) _____________________________________________________ Present Title Number ___________________

(Residence) _______________________________________________________________, VA ____________________,
Street City or Town Zip Code

who became deceased on ___________________________________,  _________.  The following statements are made:
Day Month                Yr.

1. There has not been and there is not expected to be a qualification on the estate of the deceased.

2 The motor vehicle described herein is property belonging to the estate of the deceased.

3. All of the decedent’s debts have either been paid in full or the proceeds from the sale of this vehicle will be used to
apply against the debts.

The decedent left surviving as adult legal heirs the following:

PRINT NAME OF SURVIVING SPOUSE PRINTED NAME OF HEIR

PRINTED NAME OF HEIR PRINTED NAME OF HEIR

PRINTED NAME OF HEIR PRINTED NAME OF HEIR

all of whom are 18 years of age or older.  If the assignment of title to said motor vehicle is honored, I (We) hereby hold
harmless the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles of the Commonwealth of Virginia, or his successor in office, individually and
officially, for any loss or damage which may be asserted against him or which he may sustain by reason of or incidental to
the issuance of title.

Given under my (our) hand(s) this _______________________________ day of _______________________,  _______.

SIGNATURE OF SURVIVING SPOUSE SIGNATURE OF HEIR

SIGNATURE OF HEIR SIGNATURE OF HEIR

SIGNATURE OF HEIR SIGNATURE OF HEIR
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INSTRUCTIONS

THIS FORM CANNOT BE USED IF THERE IS OR EXPECTED TO BE A QUALIFICATION ON AN ESTATE.

This form must be completed if:

1. The decedent left a will but there has not been or expected to be a qualification on the estate.

OR

2. The decedent died intestate (without a will).

A. If there is a will, the only persons required to complete this form are those named in the will
(legatees) who will receive this vehicle.

B. If the decedent died without a will, only the surviving spouse is required to complete this form,
except if there are children by a previous marriage of the decedent.  In this instance, the
surviving spouse and all heirs or their legal guardians must complete this form.

C. The surviving spouse need only complete the form if he/she attaches an attested copy of an
exempt property claim filed with the court having jurisdiction over probate or administration of
the decedent’s estate.  The exempt property claim shall indicate selected property of the
estate, including the motor vehicle in question, is exempt property having a total value which
does not exceed $3,500.00, exclusive of any security interests.

D. If there is no surviving spouse, the legal guardian of the minor children need only complete the
form if the legal guardian attaches an attested copy of an exempt property claim filed with the
court having jurisdiction over probate or administration of the decedent’s estate.  The exempt
property claim shall indicate that selected property of the estate, including the motor vehicle in
question, is exempt property having a total value which does not exceed $3,500.00, exclusive
of any security interests.
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