VSA41 (Rev. 07/02) Page 1

MECHANICS' OR STORAGE LIEN TITLE APPLICATION VEHICLE INFORMATION REQUEST

Use this application <u>ONLY</u> to request vehicle information and to apply for title as a result of a mechanics' or storage lien, as provided in §§43-32, 43-33, and 43-34.										
						that took place in Virginia. PLEASE PRINT OR TYPE				
LIENS APPLY ONLY TO VEH	HICLES Check	applicable box: (bo	oth may apply)		Was this vehicle towed at the direction of law enforcement?					
I have a Storage Lien under	r § 43-32 in the amour				Yes N	No <u>I</u>	<u>f yes, giv</u>	ve date towed		
I have a Mechanic's Lien ur	inder § 43-33 in the am									
	ΤΟΤΑΙ	AL \$				/	4	/		
MECHANICS' OR STORAGE										
Name of Company Holding Vehicle	e			Comp; ,	cany Telephone Nu)	umber				
Street Address				City)	Sta	ite	Zip Code		
FEIN or Social Security Number	Use Agree	ement Number <i>(if app</i>	olicable)	Access Code (if applicable)						
Street Address where vehicle is he	eld (if different from abov	vve) Telephone Nu	mber	City		Sta	ite	Zip Code		
TITLE SERVICE INFORMATIO	CN Complete this	section if a "Titling S	Service" is sul	ıbmittinç	n this request on !	hehalf (of the lien	holder.		
Titling Service's Name				-	hone Number		<i>h</i> u.e			
				()					
Street Address		_		City	_	Sta	ite	Zip Code		
	*Required by the State purposes per §§2.1-196			se Agreer applicab	ement Number ble)		cess Code applicable			
VEHICLE INFORMATION										
Year Make		Model		Body Typ	-		Color			
License Plate Number	State	Vehicle Identificati	on Number (af	fter mod	del year 1980 the \vee	/IN sho	uld be 17 d	digits, no spaces)		
Value (Check applicable bo	, <u> </u>		5,000 or less	_	\$5,001 to \$			\$15,001 or more		
NOTE: <i>DMV verifies a vehicle's value u is over \$5,000, you may request an appoir</i>	using the NADA "LOAN" value	e. If there is good reasor	n to believe that the the vehicle. Ple	he vehicle ease ask ti	should be valued at \$	\$5,000 or Center re	less but the	NADA "LOAN" value		
number of the Special Agent in your area.							Yes	No		
INFORMATION REQUEST										
This is to request that DMV furnish information from its files on the above-described vehicle in accordance with Va. Code §§43-32, 43-33, and 43-34. I understand that it is unlawful to use information provided by DMV for any purpose other than the one stated. I further certify that the information I have requested with this form will be used only for the stated purpose. Additionally, I certify that the information given in this application is true and correct to the best of my knowledge. I understand that it is unlawful to knowingly make false statements on an application and that any violation may be prosecuted as a Class 2 misdemeanor.										
Authorized Signature of Mechanic		Name (Print or		<u>10 u -</u>	52 111000	Dat	te			
Authorized Signature of Title Service	ce Representative	Name (Print or	r Type)			Dat	ie			
FOR DMV USE ONLY										
DMV recognizes the NADA Off	Ψ		Τ	-		-	-			
Used Car Guide for "loan value NADA "LOAN VALUE":	e" (Check applicable	1- have 1	Teller Stamp	'n	T(eller Sta	חשי			
NADA "LOAN VALUE": \$1,000 or less and \$5,000 or		,	1000.2	ų		лю, <u>.</u>	μh			
	ist petition General Dist	,								
	st petition the Circuit C									
NCIC Checked: is vehicle reported	·	ES 🗌 NO	Work Center	r Clerk ₹	Stamp Te	eller Sta	ımp			
VSA work center stamp:										

NLETS stamp:

MECHANICS' OR STORAGE LIEN TITLE APPLICATION LIEN APPLICANT & PURCHASER INFORMATION

To obtain a Virginia title for the vehicle, follow the instructions listed below:

For the purposes of a mechanics' or storage lien, the following definitions apply:

LOAN VALUE is the vehicle value as determined by the NADA OFFICIAL USED CAR GUIDE.

NOTICE OF INTENT TO SELL <u>Virginia record found</u> -- The mechanic or lienholder must arrange for the vehicle to be sold at a **public auction**, and **AT LEAST 10 DAYS PRIOR** to the public auction:

- notify the owner and lienholder, if any, by certified mail return receipt, of the DATE, TIME, and PLACE of the auction, and
- advertise the DATE, TIME, PLACE, and TERMS of the auction in at least one "public place" (as described below).

NOTICE OF INTENT TO SELL <u>No Virginia or non-Virginia record found or the owner's address is unknown</u> -- The mechanic or storage lienholder must arrange for the vehicle to be sold at **public auction**, and **AT LEAST 10 DAYS PRIOR** to the public auction

• advertise the DATE, TIME, PLACE, and TERMS of the auction in three different "public places" (see definition below)

PUBLIC PLACE is a premises or agency open to the public and owned by the Commonwealth of Virginia or a Virginia county, city, or any other Virginia political subdivision, *where such postings are permitted.*

\$1,000 OR LESS The mechanic or storage lienholder may apply for a title to a motor vehicle, free of all liens and claims of ownership of others, and may sell or otherwise dispose of the vehicle, provided <u>all 4 conditions listed below are present:</u>

- 1. no owner nor any other lienholder or secured party was determined by DMV;
- 2. the vehicle was manufactured at least six years prior to the current model year;
- 3. the vehicle has a value of \$1,000 or less; and
- 4. the vehicle has been in the mechanic's or storage lienholder's continuous custody for at least thirty days.

 The <u>mechanics' or vehicle storage lien</u> applicant must present to DMV a completed Application for Certificate of Title and Registration (VSA17A) with applicable fees, and this completed form.

\$5,000 OR LESS The mechanic or storage lienholder must:

- request DMV to search title records available for the vehicle owner and lienholder, if any, and
- make notice of the intent to sell the vehicle (as described above).

The purchaser (after the auction) must present to DMV all of the following:

- the results of DMV's record search and a completed Mechanics' or Storage Lien Application (VSA41 Pages 1-4);
- a completed Application for Certificate of Title and Registration (VSA17A) with applicable fees;
- a bill of sale from the mechanic or storage lienholder holding the auction;
- a copy of the public auction notice and location of posting;
- a copy of the original repair order; and
- the return receipt for the certified mail, if delivered, or the certified letter (unopened) with the return receipt attached, if not delivered.

\$5,001 TO \$15,000 The mechanic or storage lienholder must:

- request DMV search title records available for the vehicle owner and lienholder, if any;
- make notice of the intent to sell the vehicle (as described above); and
- petition the General District Court, in the city or county where the vehicle is located, to order the sale of the vehicle.

The **purchaser** must present to DMV all of the following:

- the results of DMV's record search and a completed Mechanics' or Storage Lien Application (VSA41, page 1 & 2)
- a completed Application for Certificate of Title and Registration (VSA 17A), with applicable fees; and
- an affidavit (VSA41, page 3) from the sheriff stating that the vehicle was sold in compliance with the court's order.

\$15,001 OR MORE The mechanic or storage lienholder must:

- request DMV search title records available for the vehicle owner and lienholder, if any;
- make notice of the intent to sell the vehicle (as described above); and
- petition the Circuit Court, in the city or county where the vehicle is located, to order the sale of the vehicle.

The **<u>purchaser</u>** must present to DMV all of the following:

- the results of DMV's record search and a completed Mechanics' or Storage Lien Application (VSA41, page 1 & 2);
- a completed Application for Certificate of Title and Registration (VSA17A), with applicable fees; and
- an affidavit (VSA41, page 3) from the sheriff stating that the vehicle was sold in compliance with the court's order.

MECHANICS' OR STORAGE LIEN TITLE APPLICATION

AFFIDAVIT OF COMPLIANCE WITH THE LAWS OF VIRGINIA CODE §§ 43-32 THROUGH 43-34

This affidavit <u>must</u> be completed by the mechanic or storage lienholder and be submitted by the purchaser along with the required documents, fees and taxes (see page 2 for instructions).

Please print or type.								
Purchaser's Name Vehicle Sale Price								
Vehicle Year Vehicle Make Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) (Vehicles with model year 1980 and newer must have 17 digits)	newer must have 17 digits)							
\sim 88 46 2 1200 46 2 1213 or 46 2 1215 and at least 20 days have based TO	LIST DATE VEHICLE WAS TOWED (Should be same date as page # 1)							
Check this box if: The vehicle qualifies to be titled under §43-34 when the value is \$1,00	0 OR LESS.							
 NOTE: The mechanic or storage lienholder may apply to DMV for a title to a motor vehicle, free of all liens and claims of ownership of others, and may sell or otherwise dispose of the vehicle if <u>all 4 of the following conditions are present:</u> no owner nor any other lienholder or secured party of the vehicle was determined by the Virginia DMV; the vehicle was manufactured at least six years prior to the current model year (Example: 2000-6 prior years = 1993); the vehicle has a value of \$1,000 or less; and the vehicle has been in the mechanic's or storage lienholder's <u>continuous custody</u> for at least 30 days. 								
 As the Mechanic or Storage Lienholder, I have: (Check <u>all</u> applicable boxes) applied to DMV for vehicle owner and lienholder information as a result of a Mechanic or Storage Lien that occurred in Virginia; made notice of intent to sell the vehicle under the procedure prescribed by §§ 43-32 through 43-34; arranged for the vehicle to be sold under the procedure prescribed by §§ 43-32 through 43-34. 								
The following certification MUST be signed and dated by the mechanic or storage lienholder in the presence	of a Notary Public							
The following certification MUST be signed and dated by the mechanic or storage lienholder in the presence of a Notary Public. I AFFIRM, UNDER <u>PENALTY OF PERJURY</u> , THAT I HAVE COMPLIED WITH THE REQUIREMENTS OF THE CODE OF VIRGINIA § 43-34 AND THAT ALL INFORMATION HEREIN IS TRUE AND CORRECT. I UNDERSTAND THAT IT IS UNLAWFUL TO KNOWINGLY MAKE FALSE								
STATEMENTS ON AN AFFIDAVIT AND THAT ANY VIOLATION MAY BE PROSECUTED AS A CLASS 5 FELONY Mechanic's or Storage Lienholder's Signature Mechanics' or Storage Lienholder's name (Please print name)	Date							
The following must be completed by a Notary Public.								
Commonwealth of Virginia, city or county ofsubscribed and sworn before me on this day of, Month Year, by in the city or county and state aforesaid.	Notary Public seal (if required)							
Notary Public's Signature:								
Notary Public's Name (please print name)								
My commission expires								
THE VEHICLE WAS SOLD IN COMPLIANCE WITH A COURT ORDER Sheriff's Signature Date								
Sheriff's name and jurisdiction (Please print name)								

MECHANICS' OR STORAGE LIEN TITLE APPLICATION <u>THIS PAGE FOR DMV USE ONLY</u>

Customer Service Center comp	pletes this checklist of	of documents to b	e presented t	o DMV before	e a title is issued:				
ALL APPLICANTS MUST PRESEN		ED VSA17A FORM,	AND [A COMPLE	TED VSA41 FORM,				
		D SEARCH RESUL	тѕ						
		AND							
THE FOLLOW	ING DOCUMENTS LIST	ED ACCORDING TO	THE VEHICLE	'S "LOAN VAL	.UE"				
To DMV for "LOAN VALUE" of \$1,000 or Less NOTE: <u>Check each block</u> to indicate that the applicant complied with this part of \$ 43-34	 vehicle, free of all liens and claims of ownership of others, and may sell or otherwise dispose of the vehicle provided <u>all four conditions listed below are present:</u> 1. no owner nor any other lienholder or secured party was determined by DMV; 2. the vehicle was manufactured at least six years prior to the current model year; 								
Titling Documents Presented					mail return receipt (signed)				
	Copy of public auctio	on notice		Undelivered certified mail (unopened)					
of \$5,000 or Less	Copy of original repa				e(s) notice(s) was/were posted				
Titling Documents Presented to DMV for "LOAN VALUE" of \$5,001 to \$15,000	Sale documentation	e the VSA41 affidav		eller Stamp					
Titling Documents Presented	Sale documentation	from sheriff							
to DMV for "LOAN VALUE"									
of \$15,001 or more	Sheriff must complete	e the VSA41 affidav	it (page 3)						
Teller's Remarks									
			/:t						
Documents Witnessed By (signature rec	quired)	Print Name of W	niness		Date				
ONLY A DMV SPECIAL AC	GENT MAY COMPLE	TE THIS SECTION	I, IF REQUES ⁻	TED TO INSP	ECT VEHICLE				
Public VIN				Odometer Reading					
Year Make		Model	Body Ty	/pe	Color				
Public VIN Is: (<i>Check all applicable boxe</i> Correct Missing Chai		ampered with	License Plate	Number	State				
INSPECTION RESULTS:	Special Agent's Rer	narks							
	·								
Appears to be \$5,000 or less	3								
Appears to be \$5,001 or mor	Process mu	 Process may be handled by DMV Process must be handled by the court The decision of the Special Agent is final 			gent's Seal				
Special Agent's Name (<i>please print</i>)	Code Number								
Special Agent's Signature	Inspection Date								