**Original Date:** 02/10/2006 **Revision Date:** 04/10/2019

Customer Requirements Front Counter CSR Points to Remember Related Links Contact

# POLICY

Title: VIN Replacement-Substitute Title

Effective Date: February 10, 2006	Revision Date: April 10, 2019

Authority: Code of Virginia §§ 46.2-1072 and 46.2-1072.1

Policy:

DMV shall accept application for the replacement of a vehicle identification number (VIN) when the existing VIN for a vehicle was lost, stolen, or destroyed.

Once an investigation of the circumstances is completed by DMV Law Enforcement, and the applicant is determined eligible, DMV shall replace the lost, stolen, or destroyed VIN with a replacement of the same VIN originally assigned to the vehicle. The vehicle must be located in Virginia.

DMV shall charge a fee of \$125 per vehicle for the examination, verification, or identification of the serial or identification number of any vehicle, motor vehicle, trailer, or semitrailer.

#### Exception:

#### <<<<REVISION

Homemade trailers, not made from kit, must apply for a VIN plate in accordance with <u>VLIC-3.235</u> (refer to the <u>Service</u> <u>Provider Options for VIN Issue/Assign/Correct</u> table). END REVISION>>>>

Return to top of page

## **CUSTOMER REQUIREMENTS**

1. Submit the following to a CSC or mail directly to Vehicle Branding Work Center:

## <<<<REVISION

**NOTE:** For customers who are mailing their own paperwork, advise to mail First Class, or with tracking. **END REVISION>>>>** 

Application for Assigned Vehicle Identification Number (VSA 22)

#### <<<<REVISION

- When applying for VIN verification due to the VIN on the title not matching the VIN on the vehicle, the customer must record the "correct" VIN on the application. **END REVISION>>>>**
- Virginia title
  - Title must show the same name that appears on the VSA 22,
  - If the vehicle is not titled in the customer's name, also submit Application for Certificate of Title and Registration (<u>VSA 17A</u>) and other required documents in accordance with <u>VLIC-3.000</u>. END REVISION>>>>

## <<<<REVISION

- 2 Submit payment by check or money order for: END REVISION>>>>>
  - Replacement VIN fee, if applicable,
  - VIN inspection fee, if applicable,

<<<<REVISION

- Titling fee (when applicable) END REVISION>>>>
- Substitute title fee.
- 3. Mail all documents and payment to the Vehicle Branding Work Center (see address under Front Counter CSR), or submit to a CSC for mailing

Return to top of page

# FRONT COUNTER CSR

- 1. Verify submission of the following:
  - Completed and signed VSA 22.
  - Virginia title showing the same owner name as that appearing on the <u>VSA 22</u>.
  - <<<<REVISION
  - VSA 17A and other required titling documents if the vehicle is not titled in the customer's name. END **REVISION>>>>**
- 2. Collect payment by check or money order, or the completed and signed Vehicle Services Payment Authorization (VSA 153), for:
  - Replacement VIN fee,
  - VIN inspection fee,
  - <<<<REVISION
  - Titling fee (when applicable), END REVISION>>>>
  - Substitute title fee.
- 3. Inform the customer that:
  - He will be contacted by a DMV Law Enforcement Special Agent in approximately 2 weeks to schedule an appointment for VIN plate installation (when applicable) and/or VIN plate inspection.
  - Once the vehicle passes inspection, a substitute title will be processed and mailed to their address on record or to the lienholder, if a lien exists.
- 4. Combine all submitted documents and payment in a separate 1<sup>st</sup> class envelope addressed to:

Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles Vehicle Branding Work Center VIN Replacement P.O. Box 27412 Richmond, Virginia 23269-0001

5. Place the addressed envelope in the designated area on the back counter for pickup and mailing.

Return to top of page

## POINTS TO REMEMBER

- Vehicle Branding Work Center will:
  - a. Make a replacement VIN plate for the vehicle, once determined eligible,
  - b. Send replacement VIN plate and paperwork to DMV Law Enforcement (LE),
  - c. Process a substitute title, once the vehicle passes inspection by LE and paperwork is returned,
  - d. Mail substitute title to the owner's address on record, or to a lienholder if a lien exists.
- LE will:
  - a. Contact the customer and schedule a VIN inspection, and vehicle inspection when applicable,
  - b. Install the VIN plate, if requested, provided the vehicle passed inspection,
    - VIN plate will not be installed if there is a discrepancy between the vehicle identification number(s) and confidential number and the vehicle is identified on the title.
  - c. Return the paperwork to Vehicle Branding.
- The substitute title will indicate "Replacement VIN" in "Other Pertinent Data" field of the title.
- For homemade trailers, VIN plates can be obtained from any CSC, DMV Select, or by mailing application to Titling Work Center in accordance with <u>VLIC-3.235</u>.

#### <<<<REVISION

o Trailers made by a manufacturer or from a kit DO NOT QUALIFY as homemade trailers. END REVISION>>>>>

Return to top of page

# **RELATED LINKS**

Return to top of page

CONTACT

For additional information contact:

- ٠
- Your CSC Manager/Assistant Manager DMV Direct Help Desk at (804) 367-6646 DMV Law Enforcement VSA/<u>Vehicle Branding Work Center</u> •
- ٠
- •

Return to top of page