Original Date: 07/01/1975 **Revision Date:** 07/01/2024

Registration Renewal Fees & Discounts Customer Requirements Front Counter CSR DMV Contact Center Agents Points to Remember Contact

POLICY

Title: Registration Renewal

Effective Date: July 1, 1975 Revision Date: July 1, 2024

Authority: Code of Virginia §§ <u>9.1-900</u> et seq., <u>46.2-214.3</u>, <u>46.2-221.4</u>, <u>46.2-646</u>, <u>46.2-1176</u>, <u>Governor Acts of</u> <u>Assembly (CHAP003</u>, 1-435)

Policy:

Motor vehicles, trailers, and semitrailer registrations are renewed on an annual basis upon application by the owner and payment of required renewal fees.

Vehicle owners may choose to renew vehicle registrations for more than one year.

Three-year vehicle registrations are renewable only when 6-months or less remain in the registration period. This limit applies only to 3-year registrations.

Exceptions:

- 1. Multi-year registrations are not allowed for Vehicles:
 - <<<<REVISION
 - Registered under the International Registration Plan (IRP) END REVISION>>>>>
 - Subject to the Federal Heavy Vehicle Use Tax (HVUT) (refer to VLIC-4.630)
 - Subject to emissions with a model year greater than 4 years are not eligible for 3 year registrations (refer to <u>VLIC-4.405</u>).
 - Issued one-year permanent truck or tractor registrations
- 2. Owners or lessees of vehicles registered in Virginia who have served outside of the United States in the armed services of the United States, as a member of the U.S. diplomatic service, or have been a U.S. civilian employee, or a spouse or dependent accompanying such member are granted a 90-day grace period to comply with registration requirements. The grace period begins on the date they are no longer serving outside the U.S.
- 3. DMV shall not issue or renew special license plates to any vehicle owner or co-owner who is registered pursuant to the Sex Offender and Crimes Against Minors Registry Act if the design of such plate, including any logo, emblem, seal, or symbol therein, references children or children's programs or if any revenue-sharing provision authorized for such special license plates contributes, directly or indirectly, to any fund or programs or if any revenue-sharing provision authorized for such special license plates contributes, directly or indirectly, to any fund or program established for the benefit of children (Va. Code § <u>46.2-725</u>).
- 4. Additionally, DMV shall not issue or renew any personalized license plates to any vehicle owner or coowner who is registered pursuant to the Sex Offender and Crimes Against Minors Registry Act if the requested plate combination can be read, interpreted, or understood to be a reference to children (Va. Code § <u>46.2-726</u>).

Return to top of page

REGISTRATION RENEWAL FEES AND DISCOUNTS

Customers renewing an expired registration will be required to pay an additional late fee (refer to the DMV Fee Chart).

IMPORTANT: Late fees may be waived for the following reasons:

- Military members, diplomatic service members, civilian employees, their spouses and/or dependents serving outside of the United States at the time which the vehicle registration expired and meet <u>conditions to receive</u> <u>the late fee waiver</u>.
- o CSC management discretion as a result of DMV error only.
- o Reactivated registration/plates (this is automatically waived by the system).
- DMV offers multiple registration renewal discounts based on years renewed and service option used to process the renewal.
- Registration renewals received through the mail may be renewed for one or two years.
- Registrations renewed at Customer Service Centers (CSCs) and DMV Selects, as well as online may be renewed for one, two or three years. Refer to the Registration Discount/Service Options chart below:

| Registration Discount/Service Options | | | | |
|--|------------------------------|------------|--------------|------|
| Registration Renewal MULTI-YEAR DISCOUNT ^{1,2} | Renewal Processing Location: | | | |
| | CSC | DMV SELECT | Online | Mail |
| 1-Year \$1 Discount | - | - | \checkmark | - |
| 2-Year \$2 Discount | 1 | ✓ | - | ~ |
| 2-Year \$3 Discount | - | - | ✓ | - |
| 3-Year \$3 Discount ³ | ~ | ~ | - | - |
| 3-Year \$4 Discount ³ | - | - | \checkmark | - |
| ¹The discount for one, two or three year renewals is not prorated and not refundable if the registration is canceled before it expires. ² Three year vehicle registrations may be renewed only when 6 months or less remain to expiration. ³ The 3-year option is not available for vehicles subject to emission requirements as the vehicle must be inspected every 2 years, except that new, demonstrator and used vehicles of the current and 3 previous model years may be eligible to be registered for 3 years because these vehicles are exempt from emissions inspections for up to 4 | | | | |

NOTE: As part of DMV's ongoing efforts to ensure the security of customer information, credit card payment is no longer accepted by mail for vehicle registration renewals. Customers may apply for registration renewal online, by visiting a CSC or DMV Select, or by mailing applications with check or money order to DMV.

Return to top of page

CUSTOMER REQUIREMENTS

vears.

- 1. Submit one of the following applications, completed and signed:
 - Vehicle Preprinted Registration Renewal Notice (VSA 2), or
 - Vehicle Registration Application (VSA 14), when required.

NOTE: The VSA-14 is not required when **renewing** a registration in service locations with credit card terminals, provided no changes will be made to the vehicle record. Refer to the <u>Vehicle</u> Reissue/Renewal on DMV Credit Card Terminals EZ Guide.

- $_{\odot}$ $\,$ To be eligible to apply for registration renewal the applicant must be:
 - The vehicle owner, co-owner, or his agent with power of attorney (POA) granting legal authority to act on their behalf,
 - OR
 - An applicant, other than owner, co-owner, or their agent with POA, who can provide, or has in their possession, one of the following:
 - The title number and last 4 numbers of the vehicle identification number (VIN)
 - OR
 - ^D The current registration card.
- 2. Submit documents to qualify for the 90-day grace period:
 - Document must verify that the applicant was officially stationed outside the U.S. when the registration expired and that it is less than 90 days have passed since their overseas duty ended.

| 90-DAY GRACE PERIOD ¹ | | | |
|---|---|---|--|
| Type of Service | Service Confirmation | Identification | |
| U.S. Active Duty Military | Military orders or other military documentation to verify overseas duty dates and location. | U.S. Military ID Card OR U.S. Military Dependent ID card | |
| U.S. Diplomatic Service | Diplomatic orders, OR Certification letter on U.S. government letterhead stating the applicant is serving overseas in a diplomatic capacity or is accompanying a diplomat (spouse and dependents). Letter must include applicant's name, and be signed by the applicant's supervisor | Copy of applicant's passport, OR U.S. passport card indicating diplomatic status OR Copy of their employee ID card | |
| U.S. Civilian Employee | Copy of the travel orders OR Certification letter on U. S. government or contractor's letterhead stating applicant is serving overseas as a U.S. civilian employee, or is accompanying the employee (spouse, and dependents), signed by the commanding officer or supervisor. | U.S. Military Civilian Employee or Government Employee Identification Card, OR U.S. Military or Department of Defense Contractor Identification Card | |
| ¹ The registered vehicle must be: Owned or leased by a person or persons, spouses or dependents, serving outside of the United States; Have had a valid registration issued by DMV at the time the owner began service or civilian employment outside of the U.S. Be properly insured at time of renewal. Display the latest license plates and decals issued by DMV; Be operated only by qualified persons (military member, U.S. diplomatic service member, U.S. civilian employee, or accompanying spouse or dependent). | | | |

<<<<REVISION

- Verify vehicle information and certify vehicle insurance coverage on the credit card terminal when no application is required (refer to <u>VLIC-4.405</u>). END REVISION>>>>
- 4. Check one-year, two-year or three-year registration renewal period.
- 5. Submit fees.

FRONT COUNTER CSR

1. Review submitted application:

0

- VSA 2, or
- <u>VSA 14</u>

In service locations with credit card terminals, the VSA 14 is not required for registration renewals when no change is being made to the vehicle record.

- 2. Verify that the applicant is:
 - The owner, co-owner, or their agent with POA granting legal authority to act on their behalf,
 - Verify the vehicle owner's/co-owner's identity, or

Return to top of page

• For agents with POA, ensure legal authority is granted by reviewing the POA (copy is acceptable) and return it to the customer.

OR

- An applicant other than owner, co-owner, or their agent with POA, who can provide, or has in their possession, one of the following:
 - The title number and the last 4 numbers of the VIN for the vehicle being renewed,

OR

• The current registration card.

NOTE: Three-year vehicle registrations may be renewed only when 6 months or less remain to the expiration date. This limit applies only to 3-year registrations.

- Offer customers the opportunity to receive renewal reminders using the <u>E-Notification</u> option in accordance with <u>CSCOM-136</u>.
- 4. Determine the requested registration renewal period.

<<<<REVISION

- MULTI-YEAR registration renewals and discounts are not available for vehicles when the following applies:
 - Federal Heavy Vehicle Use Tax (HVUT) (gross weight of 55,000 pounds or more). (Refer to <u>VLIC-4.630</u>.)
 - International Registration Plan (IRP). (Refer to <u>VLIC-6.005</u>.)
 - Quarterly registrations (gross weight of 10,001 pounds or more).
 - Emissions inspection due to expire in less than 24 months. (Refer to VLIC-4.410.)
 - One-year permanent truck or tractor registrations. (Refer to <u>VLIC-4.240</u>). END REVISION>>>>
- 5. Enter the vehicle registration information into the system from the application, or when no application is required, from customer verbal responses.
- 6. Ask the customer to respond to the credit card terminal prompts: (Refer to the <u>Vehicle Reissue/Renewal on</u> <u>DMV Credit Card Terminals EZ Guide</u>).
 - Correct any incorrect information in the system, as indicated by the customer, and ask them to reverify on the card terminal.
 <<<<REVISION
 - b. Continue processing if the customer indicates the vehicle is insured. END REVISION>>>>>
- 7. Process the registration renewal in the system.
 - a. For expired registrations, renew following the steps in the chart below:

| EXPIRED REGISTRATION RENEWAL GUIDE | | |
|---|--|--|
| PLATES EXPIRED FOR: | RENEW REGISTRATION AS FOLLOWS: | |
| Less than one month | Do not change the current month expiration date Collect the total fee¹ for the length of the registration period Issue year decals | |
| More than one month, less than twelve months (vehicle has been driven since expiration) | Do not change the current month expiration date Collect the total fee¹ for the length of the registration period Issue year decals | |
| More than one month, less than twelve months ^{1,2} (customer states vehicle has not been driven since expiration) | Prorate from current month to the expiration date generated by the system Collect prorated fee¹ for the system generated expiration date Give customer appropriate year decal | |
| More than twelve months ³ | Change the expiration date to 1, 2, or 3 years from the current month (customer's option) Collect the total fee for the length of the new registration period (no late fee applies) Issue month and year decals for the new registration | |
| ¹ Registrations renewed within 12 months after expiration will be charged a late fee when renewed, unless the customer i eligible for a waiver (refer to late fee <u>waivers</u>). IMPORTANT: All late fee waivers must be authorized by management or designee. | | |

² Registrations remain eligible for renewal up to 12 full months after its expiration.

³ Customers can use the same set of production or personalized license plates last issued to the vehicle, provided they are still in their possession and the plates are expired for less than 12 months.

b. For registrations that cannot be renewed due to unpaid local tax or parking citation stops, or emissions inspection requirements, offer the option of a one-month registration extension.

- i. For customers opting for the one-month extension, verify that the current registration is:
 - Due to expire at the end of the current month, and
 - Not already issued a one-month registration extension for personal property tax stops, parking citation stops, or emissions inspection requirements during the current registration period.
 - If a one-month extension has already been issued for locality tax stops, parking citations, or for required emissions inspections:
 - 1) Advise the customer that an additional extension cannot be granted,
 - AND
 - Any existing stops and/or emissions inspection requirements must be satisfied before being eligible to renew the registration.
- ii. Process a one-month registration extension in accordance with data entry procedures.
- iii. Write the log number on the application.
- iv. Collect the administrative fee and prorated one-month registration fee.
 - The administrative fee applies also to no fee registrations (i.e. disabled veterans, state vehicles, etc.)
- v. Give the customer the:
 - Appropriate month decal (year decal may be needed if the registration is due to expire in December of the current year)
 - One-month registration card
- vi. Advise customers they must comply with any locality tax or parking citation stops, or emissions inspection requirements before they are eligible to renew the registration.

FRONT COUNTER CSR (Continued)

c. For any of the following "Restricted Plate" error messages returned by the system:

| SYSTEM RESTRICTED PLATE ERROR MESSAGES | | | |
|--|---|--|--|
| Special Plate Restricted Messages | Personalized Plate Restricted Messages | | |
| Restricted Plate Type Purchase-RPLA | Restricted Plate Message Purchase-RPLA | | |
| Restricted Plate Type Renewal-RPLA | Restricted Plate Message Renewal-RPLA | | |
| Restricted Plate Type Reservation-RPLA | Restricted Plate Message Reservation-RPLA | | |
| Restricted Plate Type Transfer-RPLA | Restricted Plate Message Transfer-RPLA | | |

O NOT DISCUSS THE RESTRICTION WITH THE CUSTOMER.

ii. Read the following message to the customer that displays on the screen exactly as it appears:

"I apologize; one or more owners of this vehicle are not eligible for this plate; however, I can assist with issuing another plate for this vehicle."

d. When a customer carries plates "in-hand" to a CSC requesting original issue, reissue, transfer or exchange to their vehicle and the following "Restricted Plate" error message is returned by the system:

| SYSTEM RESTRICTED PLATE ERROR MESSAGE | |
|---|--|
| In-Hand Plate Restriction | |
| M9440 Restricted Message Call Special Registration at (804) 367-1341 - RPLA | |

i. DO NOT DISCUSS THE RESTRICTION WITH THE CUSTOMER.

- ii. Call the SRWC at the number indicated in the error message (804-367-1341).
- iii. Provide SRWC with:
 - Current plate type and number
 - In-hand plate type and number
 - Customer number
 - Vehicle identification number (VIN)
- iv. Request SRWC make a determination of eligibility for the plate.
 - Usually determined while on the phone with SRWC.
- v. If determined eligible by SRWC, complete the transaction per instruction from the SRWC.
- vi. If determined not eligible by SRWC:
 - Read the following message to the customer:

"I apologize; one or more owners of this vehicle are not eligible for this plate; however, I can assist with issuing another plate for this vehicle."

- If SRWC is unable to make a determination of eligibility while on the phone follow SRWC instructions for next steps.
- f. If the customer has further questions or concerns regarding any of the restrictions above, be courteous and provide them with the contact information for DMV Direct Call Center:
 - Phone: 804-497-7100, or
 - Email DMV Direct from DMV's website, <u>www.dmv.virginia.gov</u> by:
 - Selecting <u>Contact US</u> at the top of the home page,
 - Under Email, select <u>secure online form</u>.

NOTE: Effective July 1, 2016, according to Virginia Code §§ <u>46.2-725</u> or <u>46.2-726</u>, DMV cannot issue or renew any personalized or special license plates for any owner or co-owner of a vehicle who is registered pursuant to Virginia Code § 9.1-900, et seq., if any of the following is true:

FRONT COUNTER CSR (Continued)

For the personalized plate messages:

Requested registration numbers or letters or combination thereof could be read, interpreted, or understood to be a reference to children.

For special license plates:

Design of such special license plates, including any logo, emblem, seal, or symbol therein, references children or children's programs or if any revenue-sharing provision authorized for such special license plates contributes, directly or indirectly, to any fund or program established for the benefit of children.

8. Collect fees.

- Renewal fee(s),
 - Late fee for expired registrations, when applicable, (refer to the DMV Fee Chart).
 - All late fee waivers that are not automatically waived by the system must be authorized by management or designee.

IMPORTANT: If there is no second person available at a DMV Select, customers must be sent to the nearest CSC to process their expired registration with a late fee waiver.

- Waive late fees for expired registrations in the following situations:
 - Persons serving outside the United States at the time the vehicle registration expired.
 - a. Verify applicant is one of the following:
 - Civilian employee of the United States government, any agency or contractor,
 - o Member of the diplomatic service of the United States,
 - Active duty United States military service member,
 - Spouse and Dependents of any listed above.
 - b. Verify submission of required documents showing overseas service (refer to the <u>90-Day Grace Period</u> guidelines above).
 - c. Verify the vehicle for which late fees are being waived:
 - Is owned or leased by the person or persons, spouses or dependents who are serving outside of the United States,
 - Had a valid Virginia registration at the time the owner began service or civilian employment outside of the United States,
 - Is properly insured at the time of renewal.
 - CSC management may use manager's discretion to waive late fees for DMV errors only.
 - Reactivated registration/plates
 - Customers who renew a reactivated registration within 30 days of its reactivation date are exempted from paying the transaction late fee automatically by the system (refer to <u>VLIC-4.105</u>).
- 9. Continue processing registration in accordance with VLIC-4.000.

Return to top of page

DMV CONTACT CENTER AGENTS

- 1. DMV Contact Center service representatives are responsible for offering the E-notification option to every customer served. Refer to <u>Electronic Notification (E-Notification) Requests</u> for guidelines.
- Certain information on a vehicle record will stop a vehicle renewal notice (VSA 2) from being generated by the system If customers indicate they did not receive a renewal notice, DMV Direct Agents should check for stops on the customer's record (CUSINF). For complying and removing stops, refer to <u>Stops</u>.
- 3. The VSA 2 vehicle renewal notice requires the signature of the applicant, date, daytime telephone number, vehicle registration renewal fee payment by check, or money order (payable to DMV), and a check mark in the appropriate box to indicate whether the vehicle is insured or not.
- 4. If customers do not have the vehicle renewal notice (VSA 2) at the time of the transaction, they can apply by completing the "Application for Registration" (<u>VSA 14</u>) to renew the registration.
- 5. To determine if a local vehicle registration (LVR) fee is applicable, refer to <u>VLIC-4.415</u>.

6. For customers **applying by phone** for issuance or renewal of special plates or a personalized plate message for which one of the following Restricted Plate Error Messages is returned by the system:

| SYSTEM RESTRICTED PLATE ERROR MESSAGES | | | |
|--|---|--|--|
| Restricted Special Plate | Restricted Personalized Plate Message | | |
| Restricted Plate Type Purchase-RPLA | Restricted Plate Message Purchase-RPLA | | |
| Restricted Plate Type Renewal-RPLA | Restricted Plate Message Renewal-RPLA | | |
| Restricted Plate Type Reservation-RPLA | Restricted Plate Message Reservation-RPLA | | |
| Restricted Plate Type Transfer-RPLA | Restricted Plate Message Transfer-RPLA | | |

OR

For customers **calling to find out why they were restricted** from issuance or renewal of special plates or a personalized plate message at a CSC,

OR

For customers **calling in after receiving a letter** from DMV in the mail indicating they are restricted by the system from issuance or renewal of special plates or a personalized plate message:

- a. Authenticate that the caller is the owner or a co-owner of the vehicle.
 - If someone other than the owner or a co-owner is on the phone, advise the caller that the owner or co-owner must call for information about the requested personalized message or special plate.
- b. Check Vehicle Notes in the system for the vehicle the caller is attempting to register. In some cases, the owner or co-owner who is the restricted party will be identified by a note in the following format "RPLA Owner#," where the owner number corresponds to the order in which the owners are listed on the vehicle record (owner 1, owner 2, etc.). If a note exists, and the caller is NOT the restricted party, do not identify to the caller which owner is the restricted party.
- c. Advise the owner or co-owner of the following information:

Effective July 1, 2016, according to Virginia Code §§ 46.2-725 or 46.2-726, DMV cannot issue or renew any personalized or special license plates for any owner or co-owner of a vehicle who is registered pursuant to the Va. Code § 9.1-900, et seq., if any of the following is true:

For the personalized plate messages:

Requested registration numbers or letters or combination thereof could be read, interpreted, or understood to be a reference to children.

For special license plates:

Design of such special license plates, including any logo, emblem, seal, or symbol therein, references children or children's programs or if any revenue-sharing provision authorized for such special license plates contributes, directly or indirectly, to any fund or program established for the benefit of children.

- d. Offer to assist the customer with issuing another plate for the vehicle.
- 7. Customers paying by credit card may renew vehicle registrations using one of the following preferred service options:
 - Online at <u>www.dmv.virginia.gov</u>
 - Visiting a DMV Select

Customers paying by check or money order may renew vehicle registrations by mail to the address below: Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles

Attn: Renewal Center

P.O. Box 27412

Richmond, VA 23269-0001

Customers should allow 15 days to receive their decals before contacting DMV when renewing via one of DMV's preferred service options. Most renewed decals are received within 5 days (mail delivery times vary).

- 8. DMV accepts Discover, MasterCard, VISA, and American Express credit cards.
- 9. The Special Registration Work Center processes the following vehicle registration renewals:
 - Internet Source Code 200
 - Mail-In Source Codes 201 & 202.

10. DMV Contact Center agents cannot assist customers with answering Personal Property Tax Relief (PPTR) questions; however, agents can direct the customer to contact the IRS at 1-800-829-1040.

Return to top of page

POINTS TO REMEMBER

- 1. Customers can renew their registration early. Three year registrations are renewable only when 6 months or less remain in the registration period. This limit applies to 3-year registrations only.
- 2. DMV mails registration renewal notifications approximately 60 days prior to the expiration date of the registration.
- Customers may opt to receive electronic registration renewal notices by email or text message (<u>E-Notification</u>) instead of paper renewal notices. Once the owner opts in for E-notifications, both driver's license and vehicle renewal reminders will be sent electronically.
 - Customers who opt in to receive <u>E-Notifications</u> also receive reminders approximately 45 days prior to the expiration of their registration.
- 4. A late fee is collected on registration renewal transactions that occur after the expiration date. No late fees are charged for Disabled Veteran and Purple Heart plates.
- The late fee is waived automatically by the system for registrations that are renewed within 30 days of its reactivation date (refer to <u>VLIC-4.105</u>).

IMPORTANT: All late fee waivers that are not automatically generated by the system must be authorized by management.

- If members of management are processing a transaction that includes a late fee waiver, they must request a manager or designee to authorize the transaction.
- When a late fee waiver is authorized, the system automatically waives the service fee.
- DMV Select Offices must have a second person available to authorize the late fee waiver. If no one is available, the customer must be sent to the nearest CSC.
- 6. Two or more vehicles owned by the same person may be scheduled to expire within the same registration period upon request by prorating registration fees.
- 7. A one-time, one-month registration extension may be granted for the following conditions providing the current registration is due to expire within the month and no other one-month extensions have been granted during the current registration period:
 - Personal property tax stops
 - Parking citations stops
 - Emissions inspection due
- Unpaid local tax or parking citation stop (VRWS or VRW1) registration extensions are issued only at CSCs or DMV Selects.
- 9. Emissions inspection registration extensions are issued at CSCs, DMV Selects, or online dealer locations.
- 10. For registrations expired for less than 12 months, the safety inspection, emergency medical, motorcycle safety, and emissions inspection fees are not included in prorated renewal fees (refer to <u>VLIC-4.615</u>).
- 11. Fees for Local Vehicle Registration (LVR) and Electric Vehicle Tax (for electric motor vehicles) are prorated and included in prorated renewal fees for expired registrations (refer to <u>VLIC-4.615</u>).
- 12. No person other than the owner or co-owner or their agent with power of attorney may request and obtain an **original** issue of license plates.

Return to top of page

CONTACT

For additional information contact:

- Your CSC Manager/Assistant Manager
- DMV Direct Help Desk at (804) 367-6646
- VSA/<u>Titling Work Center</u>

Return to top of page