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POLICY
Title: Antique and Permanent Vintage License Plates
Effective Date: October 25, 2007 Revision Date: July 1, 2024
Authority: Code of Virginia § 46.2-694, 46.2-711, 46.2-712, et seq., and 46.2-730
Policy:

On receipt of an application and evidence that the applicant owns, leases, or has regular use of another passenger
car, autocycle, or motorcycle, DMV will issue permanent antique license plates to owners of antique motor vehicles
and antique trailers for a one-time fee of $50.

On receipt of an application and evidence that the applicant owns, leases, or has regular use of another passenger
car, autocycle, or motorcycle, DMV may authorize and register as permanent or for general use on antique motor
vehicles and antique trailers vintage Virginia license plates provided the plate presented for use by the customer
is:

® Manufactured for issuance in Virginia prior to 1976,
® Designed for use without decals,

¢ Embossed with or are of the same model year of issue as the antique vehicle or antique trailer being
registered.

<<<<<REVISION

Customers must maintain minimum liability insurance if they have permanent antique license plates, permanent
vintage license plates, or general use vintage license plates. END REVISION>>>>>

Exception: N/A
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DEFINITIONS
ANTIQUE LICENSE PLATE — Permanent license plates issued by DMV for use on antique vehicles or trailers that
are designed with either a black background with white lettering, or yellow background with blue lettering.

ANTIQUE MOTOR VEHICLE OR TRAILER - Any motor vehicle or trailer that is 25 model years old or older as of
January 1 of the current year and is owned solely as a collector’s item.

VINTAGE LICENSE PLATES - Virginia license plates presented by the customer for use on an antique vehicles or
trailers that were designed for use without decals, that are embossed with or are of the same year as the vehicle
being registered and were manufactured before 1976.

GENERAL USE VEHICLE - Any vehicle that the customer drives on a daily basis that is not registered with antique
or permanent vintage plates. The customer must certify that they own, lease, or have access to, a general use
passenger car, autocycle, or motorcycle before DMV will register an antique vehicle or trailer with antique or vintage
plates.

OVERVIEW
ANTIQUE PLATES:

¢ Antique plates are available for antique motor vehicles, autocycles, motorcycles, and trailers.

® A permanent antique registration requires a one-time registration fee (shown on VSA 10B).
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http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter6/section46.2-694/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter6/section46.2-711/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter6/section46.2-712/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter6/section46.2-730/
http://www.dmv.virginia.gov/vehicles/#insurance.asp
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/pdf/vsa10b.pdf

¢ All antique vehicles and trailers with permanent antique or vintage registrations (not general use) state
“LIMITED USE” on the registration and are subject to the following use restrictions:

o Vehicle and trailer use is restricted to participation in club activities, exhibits, tours, parades, and
similar activities, as well as for occasional pleasure driving within 250 miles of the owner's
residence.

o Vehicle and trailer use is restricted to carrying or transporting passengers, personal effects, or
other antique motor vehicles being transported for show purposes.

o The vehicle or trailer may be driven on the highways of the Commonwealth in order to obtain
repairs or maintenance, to test its operation, or for the purpose of selling it.

And

o The vehicle or trailer must remain solely a collector's item and in no event be used for general
transportation.

VINTAGE PLATES:

® Plates used as vintage license plates MUST be originally issued by Virginia. They cannot be reproductions.

® Vintage plates are provided by the customer and are subject to quality inspection and approval by DMV prior
to use on the vehicle or trailer.

¢ DMV will not accept more than one application for a set of vintage license plates having the same number
and year.
o A set of vintage plates may share the same plate number as a single set of standard passenger
plates.

Vintage plates may be issued for antique vehicles or trailers as either permanent registrations or general use
registrations.

o Permanent vintage registrations are subject to the same restrictions as antique license plate

registrations.
o General use vintage registrations:
= Allow unrestricted driving privileges,

Must be renewed every year, every other year, or every three years
Require payment of the standard registration fees,
Display month and year decals on the vintage plates, and
Must obtain an annual safety inspection sticker.
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CUSTOMER REQUIREMENTS

1. For vehicles not yet titled in Virginia, submit the Application for Certificate of Title and Registration (VSA-17A),
other required ownership documents and fees for titling a motor vehicle.

2. Submit one of the following completed and signed applications:

e Application for Registration, (VSA 14)

e License Plate Application, (VSA 10) to apply for souvenir, personalized, or special license plates.
<<<<<REVISION
3. Submit the Antique and Vintage License Plate Certification (VSA 10B) along with the required application when

applying for either antique or vintage plates. =~ END REVISION>>>>>
e  Certification must be with original signatures (no photocopies).
e Customer must certify they own, or have regular use of, another passenger car, autocycle, or

motorcycle and that the vehicle, autocycle, or motorcycle is capable of being safely operated on Virginia
roadways.

4. Submit for inspection the license plates to be used on the antique vehicle or trailer when applying for vintage
plates.

5. Pay the required fees.
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FRONT COUNTER CSR

1. For vehicles not yet titled in Virginia, process a title transaction in accordance with VLIC-3.000 before registering
the vehicle and issuing license plates.

2. Verify accurate completion of the VSA-14 or VSA 10 application.
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https://dmvintra.dmv.virginia.gov/administrations/more-administrations/vehicle-services-administration/reference-guide-for-antique-license-plates/
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/pdf/vsa17a.pdf
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/pdf/vsa14.pdf
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/pdf/vsa10.pdf
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/pdf/vsa10b.pdf
https://ps1.dmv.virginia.gov/intranet/manuals/vlic/vlic3000.pdf

3. Verify accurate completion of the VSA-10B certification.
4. Determine the type of antique plates being applied for:
¢ Antique permanent
® Vintage permanent
® Vintage general use

NOTE: Inspect all vintage plates presented by the customer to ensure they are authentic, were issued in
Virginia, are in acceptable condition and legible (readable) for use on the vehicle.

5. If multiple registrations exist for the vehicle, ask the customer which plates they wish to retain.

® Transactions will not process in the system if multiple registrations/plates exist for the vehicle or trailer
for which the VSA 10B certification must be submitted.

6. Review the printed registration card to ensure that “LIMITED USE” appears on the left side of the card and give
the registration to the customer.

®  For error messages, double-check the title number and re-key the transaction.
7. Continue processing the registration in accordance with VLIC-4.000.
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POINTS TO REMEMBER

e Owners of antique motor vehicles, autocycles, motorcycles, or trailers registered with antique license plates who
are convicted of violating the antique license plate statute (46.2-730) are subject to (i) a Class 4 misdemeanor
and (ii) revocation of the license plates registered to the antique motor vehicle, autocycle, motorcycle, or trailer
involved in the violation for a period of five years from the date the conviction data is received by DMV.

e Antique plates are issued by DMV, vintage plates are provided by the customer.

e The registration card for a vehicle or trailer with a permanent registration (antique or vintage plates) will indicate
that the vehicle or trailer is for "LIMITED USE."

e Areissue of lost or stolen antique plates is $10 (refer to VLIC-4.115).

e License plates for passenger vehicles and trailers issued in or after 1973 are not eligible for use as vintage plates
because the year of issuance is not embossed on the plate. However, motorcycle owners may be able to obtain
vintage motorcycle plates, with embossed years, for 1973, 1974, and 1975.

e Passenger vehicles and trailers manufactured in or after 1973 and motorcycles manufactured in or after 1976 are
NOT eligible for vintage plates. Owners of those vehicles must purchase antique or standard license plates.

e Replica vehicles do not automatically qualify for antique plates based on the model year. Replica vehicles are
registered and issued license plates based on the year the replica vehicle was assembled, not the vehicle’s
model year (refer to VLIC-3.350).

e One set of passenger vehicle license plates issued after 1973 may share the same plate number as a vintage
plate. One set of motorcycle plates issued after 1976 may share the same plate number as a vintage motorcycle
plate.
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RELATED LINKS

o Reference Guide for Antiqgue/Vintage License Plates
e License Plates
e Vehicle Type Reference Guide (DMV 275) Not to be distributed to the customer.
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CONTACT

For additional information contact:
e Your CSC Manager/Assistant Manager
e DMV Contact Center Help Desk at (804) 367-6646
o VSA/Titling Work Center
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https://ps1.dmv.virginia.gov/intranet/manuals/vlic/vlic4000.pdf
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter6/section46.2-730/
http://intranet.dmv.state.va.us/intranet/manuals/vlic/vlic4115.pdf
https://ps1.dmv.virginia.gov/intranet/manuals/vlic/vlic3350.pdf
https://dmvintra.dmv.virginia.gov/administrations/more-administrations/vehicle-services-administration/reference-guide-for-antique-license-plates/
http://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/citizen/vehicles/plate_search.asp
https://ps1.dmv.virginia.gov/intranet/forms/pdf/dmv275.pdf
https://ps1.dmv.virginia.gov/intranet/know_base/workcenters_new.asp#26
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