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POLICY
Title: Insurance Verification Inquiries — Updating Records
Effective Date: 09/22/1998 Revision Date: July 1, 2024
Authority: Code of Virginia §§ 46.2-368, 46.2-688, 46.2-472, 46.2-706, and 46.2-706.1
Policy:

Virginia licensed insurance companies are required to send electronic insurance updates within 30 days of the
date of any policy changes made for vehicles registered in Virginia:

New liability insurance policies,

Additions to existing policies,

Insurance cancellations,

Reissue or reinstatement of liability insurance, and

Lapses in insurance coverage.

DMV stores and monitors reported insurance coverage for vehicles registered in Virginia and ensures vehicles are
properly insured by comparing vehicle registration information in the system with insurance coverage information
provided by vehicle owners and insurance carriers.

DMV sends an Insurance Monitor Notice (IMN) to registered vehicle owners requesting they provide insurance
coverage information if electronic notification of insurance coverage is not received from the insurance provider
within 45 days of either the vehicle’s registration date, or from the date a cancellation notice is received.

<<<<<REVISION

DMV will issue an order of suspension to suspend the driver’s license and registration for vehicle owners who do
not comply by the deadline date on the IMN notice with one of the following actions:

e  Provide proof of insurance coverage,

e Surrender or deactivate the registration, or END REVISION>>>>>

Exception: N/A
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DEFINITIONS

INSURED MOTOR VEHICLE-A motor vehicle with insurance coverage meeting the required bodily injury liability
insurance and property damage liability insurance limits issued by an insurance carrier authorized to do business in
the Commonwealth; or for which a bond has been given or cash or securities delivered in lieu of the insurance; or for
which the owner has qualified as a self-insurer in accordance with the provisions of § 46.2-368.

UNINSURED MOTOR VEHICLE - A motor vehicle with no required bodily injury liability insurance and property
damage liability insurance; or no bond given or cash or securities delivered in lieu of insurance; or the owner is not
qualified as a self-insurer.
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TYPES OF INSURANCE MONITOR NOTICES
IMN1 — A vehicle registration notice is generated as a result of no insurance information being received from an
insurance company for a newly registered vehicle.
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IMN2 - An insurance cancellation notice is generated as a result of no insurance information being received from an
insurance company to replace insurance that was cancelled.

IMN3 - A DMV Notice, Accident, Police Check, Insurance Information Request inquiry generated as a result of
information being received from a citizen or law enforcement official indicating that a vehicle may not be insured.

IMN4 - An insurance cancellation, multiple vehicles notice is generated as a result of no insurance information being
received from an insurance company to replace insurance on multiple vehicles.

IMNS5 - A vehicle registration, multiple vehicles notice is generated as a result of no insurance information being
received from an insurance company for multiple newly registered vehicles.

IM49-DENIED INSURANCE MONITOR NOTICE - Issued by DMV to customers who submit insurance information in
response to an Insurance Verification Inquiry or plate reactivation that is subsequently denied by the insurance
provider.
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BACKGROUND

Due to changes in policy for insurance reporting, deadline dates on IMN notices vary based on the date the notice
was issued. For insurance monitor compliance questions that require a determination of deadline dates for current or
past IMN notices, first identify the issue date of the IMN notice, and then determine the required Deadline Date or
Prove by Date using the table below:

To Avoid a Suspension Order, Customer Must Prove
Insurance, or Take Actions Required in the IMN, by the:
¢ Deadline Date on the IMN

(This allows customers 21 days from IMN notice date to respond.)

For an IMN issued:

ON OR AFTER July 1, 2013

From November 29, 2007 to e Deadline Date on the IMN
June 30, 2013 (This allowed customers 30 days from IMN notice date to respond.)
From September 4, 2003 to ¢ Prove by Date on the IMN
November 28, 2007 (This allowed customers 45 days from IMN notice date to respond.)

e Prove by Date on the IMN

(Customer had to prove insurance was effective ON the date of the1st
issued IMN.)

With “Prove by Dates” BEFORE
September 4, 2003
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CUSTOMER REQUIREMENTS
1. Respond to the IMN on or before the IMN Deadline Date:

2. If the vehicle was insured:
a. Ensure the insurance policy being reported was effective on the date indicated in the IMN (see table

below):
NOTICE TYPE | INSURANCE POLICY MUST BE EFFECTIVE:
IMN1 ) )
On or before the monitor deadline date
IMN2
On the date of operation (date of accident/police
IMN3 . . \
check/insurance information request)
IMN4 ) .
On or before the monitor deadline date
IMN5

b. Provide the insurance company name/National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC)
code AND policy number using one of the following service options:

e CSC,

¢ DMV Select,
<<<<<REVISION
NOTE: DMV Selects must scan all documentation submitted by the customer via Landing
Zone to Insurance Services at Headquarters. END REVISION>>>>>

e DMV Direct by phone at (804) 497-7100,
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e  Online at DMVnow.com,
e DMV Headquarters by mail at the address provided on the monitor notice,
<<<<<REVISION
3. If the vehicle was NOT insured:
a. For IMN1, IMN2, IMN4, or IMN5 Insurance Monitor Notices:
e Take one of the following actions on or before the insurance inquiry Deadline Date to
avoid issuance of a suspension order:
o Surrender or deactivate the license plates
OR
o Obtain liability insurance for the vehicle and submit to DMV the insurance company
NAIC code and policy number.
b. For IMN3 Insurance Monitor Notices:

e For IMN3 Insurance Monitor Notices, if the vehicle was not insured on the date indicated in
the IMN3, an order of suspension will be issued after the Insurance Monitor Notice deadline
date.

o Surrendering or deactivating the license plates will not satisfy the IMN3 insurance
monitor. END REVISION>>>>>
NOTE: Customers may choose to surrender license plates by calling DMV Direct or going online at
DMVNow.com. Registration refunds are not given for license plates surrendered by phone or online.

Return to top of page

FRONT COUNTER CSR
1. Identify the type of Insurance Monitor Notice received by the customer.

2. If the vehicle was insured:
a. Update the insurance verification inquiry screen with the following information in accordance with data
entry procedures
o Response status date,
o Insurance company NAIC code,
=  [If the customer does not know the insurance company NAIC code, inquire on the
list of insurance company NAIC codes in the system.
o Policy number

NOTE: If insurance information has already been reported in the system, but does not match that
being submitted by the customer, contact DMV Direct Help Desk to have the information
corrected/updated.

3. If the vehicle was NOT insured:

a. For IMN1, IMN2, IMN4, or IMN5 Insurance Monitor Notices, process the insurance monitor response
in one of the following ways, based on the customer’s response:
e  Process the surrender of license plates or deactivation of the registration in the system to
cancel the insurance monitor in accordance with VLIC-4.105, when requested by the
customer.

NOTE: If vehicle registration is deactivated or license plates are surrendered on or after the
deadline date but prior to the suspension order issue date, the system should cancel the
monitor. If the system does not cancel the insurance monitor:

i.  Verify the information was entered in the system correctly.
ii. Contact the Help Desk to have them update the order.

o |f the DMV Direct agent’s supervisor cannot update the order, they must
scan any documentation via Landing Zone to Insurance Services
explaining the problem, request Insurance Services to review the record
and to remove the IM Order.

o Advise customers that vehicles with deactivated registration must NOT be driven
while deactivated, and
<<<<<REVISION

o  Customer must provide the insurance company name/NAIC code and policy
number before the registration can be reactivated (refer to VLIC-4.105).

OR
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e Update the insurance verification inquiry screen with the new insurance information being
provided by the customer. END REVISION>>>>>

b. For IMN3 Insurance Monitor Notices, if the vehicle was not insured on the date indicated in the
IMN3, advise the customer that an order of suspension will be issued after the Insurance Monitor
Notice deadline date.
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DMV CONTACT CENTER ACTIONS

<<<<<REVISION
DMV Contact Center Agents are authorized to:

o Update Insurance Monitor Notices,

o Verbally surrender and deactivate registrations and license plates END REVISION>>>>>
Refer to Front Counter CSR

Advise customers they may surrender license plates by phone or online at DMVNow.com. Registration
refunds are not issued to customers surrendering license plates by phone or online.

Corrections to NAIC codes or policy numbers keyed in the system may only be made:
o On the date first entered in the system, and
o  Prior to the insurance monitor becoming an order.

To correct NAIC codes and policy numbers after the date first entered in the system, scan any supporting
documents to the Insurance Services and request the correction.

When posting insurance information for a Denied Monitor (no denied order of suspension is yet issued)
after the deadline date, change the status date to the Deadline Date.
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POINTS TO REMEMBER

1.

Customers may respond to insurance monitor notifications with insurance information using the following
service options:
o Calling DMV Direct at (804) 497-7100
o Visitinga CSC
o Visiting a DMV Select
NOTE: DMV Selects must scan all documentation submitted by the customer via Landing Zone to
Insurance Services at Headquarters.
o Returning the completed monitor notice to DMV Headquarters by mail
o Completing the Online Insurance Verification Response Form at www.dmvnow.com

DMV will issue an Order of Suspension for failure to comply with an Insurance Monitor Notice on or before
the Deadline Date indicated on the inquiry.

To remove a vehicle sold indicator from the vehicle record, research the vehicle record to determine if there
was an insurance monitor order on the record at the time it was marked sold to ensure the customer was not
trying to avoid the order.

o If aninsurance monitor exists and there is reason to believe the customer has fraudulent intentions,
contact the Insurance Services at Headquarters before removing the sold indicator.

o If noinsurance monitor is issued, inquire on the vehicle’s VIN in the system to verify.
a. |If the applicant is the current owner, remove the sold indicator from the vehicle record.
b. If the applicant is not the current owner, do not remove the sold indicator from the vehicle
record.

For customers who have not received an IMN, but who voluntarily report vehicle insurance information to
DMV at time of registration, enter vehicle insurance updates to the Vehicle Insurance Information screen
following data entry procedures.

ALL ACTIVE SURRENDERED PLATES MUST BE UPDATED IN THE SYSTEM AT THE TIME THEY ARE
SURRENDERED TO PREVENT SENDING UNNECESSARY INSURANCE NOTICES AND SUSPENSION
ORDERS TO CUSTOMERS.

Customers can surrender license plates by phone or online at DMVNow.com. Registration refunds are not
issued to customers surrendering license plates by phone or online.
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<<<<<REVISION

7. If the customer has been issued an IMN3 Insurance Monitor Notice, they cannot satisfy the notice
requirements by surrendering their license plates. If no insurance was in effect on the Date of Operation, an
order of suspension will be issued. END REVISION>>>>>

8. If the customer recently moved to Virginia and registered a vehicle insured by a policy issued in another
state, the customer may furnish DMV a copy of the out-of-state policy. If the out-of-state policy is not written
by a company licensed to do business in Virginia, the customer must:

a. Request the insurance company to forward a letter that is written, electronically generated, or sent
by US mail on their letterhead to Insurance Services.
=  The letter from the insurance company must:

o Be written on company letterhead

o Be dated within 30 days of the current date

o Be signed by, or include, the printed name of an insurance company

representative or the insurance agent

o List the policy information:
o Policy number, and
o Effective date of policy, and
o Limits of Liability, and
o Vehicle information (make, year, and vehicle identification number)

OR
b. Obtain insurance from a company licensed to do business in Virginia.
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RELATED LINKS
e Vehicle Licensing Guide: VLIC-4.105, VLIC-4.430
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CONTACT

For additional information contact:
e Your CSC Manager/Assistant Manager
e DMV Contact Center Help Desk at (804) 367-6646
e VSA/Insurance Services
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