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POLICY
Title: VIN Replacement-Substitute Title
Effective Date: February 10, 2006 | Revision Date: April 10, 2019

Authority: Code of Virginia §§ 46.2-1072 and 46.2-1072.1

Policy:

DMV shall accept application for the replacement of a vehicle identification number (VIN) when the existing VIN for a
vehicle was lost, stolen, or destroyed.

Once an investigation of the circumstances is completed by DMV Law Enforcement, and the applicant is determined
eligible, DMV shall replace the lost, stolen, or destroyed VIN with a replacement of the same VIN originally assigned to the
vehicle. The vehicle must be located in Virginia.

DMV shall charge a fee of $125 per vehicle for the examination, verification, or identification of the serial or identification
number of any vehicle, motor vehicle, trailer, or semitrailer.

Exception:
<<<<<REVISION

¢ Homemade trailers, not made from kit, must apply for a VIN plate in accordance with VLIC-3.235 (refer to the Service
Provider Options for VIN Issue/Assign/Correct table). END REVISION>>>>>
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CUSTOMER REQUIREMENTS
1. Submit the following to a CSC or mail directly to Vehicle Branding Work Center:

<<<<<REVISION
NOTE: For customers who are mailing their own paperwork, advise to mail First Class, or with tracking. END
REVISION>>>>>

e Application for Assigned Vehicle Identification Number (VSA 22)

<<<<<REVISION
o  When applying for VIN verification due to the VIN on the title not matching the VIN on the vehicle, the
customer must record the “correct” VIN on the application. END REVISION>>>>>

e Virginia title
o  Title must show the same name that appears on the VSA 22,

o If the vehicle is not titled in the customer’'s name, also submit Application for Certificate of Title and
Registration (VSA 17A) and other required documents in accordance with VLIC-3.000. END
REVISION>>>>>
<<<<<REVISION
2 Submit payment by check or money order for: END REVISION>>>>>
o Replacement VIN fee, if applicable,
e VIN inspection fee, if applicable,
<<<<<REVISION
e Titling fee (when applicable) END REVISION>>>>>
e  Substitute title fee.
3. Mail all documents and payment to the Vehicle Branding Work Center (see address under Front Counter CSR), or

submit to a CSC for mailing
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http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/46.2-1072
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/46.2-1072.1
https://ps1.dmv.virginia.gov/intranet/manuals/vlic/vlic3235.pdf
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/pdf/vsa22.pdf
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/pdf/vsa22.pdf
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/pdf/vsa17a.pdf
https://ps1.dmv.virginia.gov/intranet/manuals/vlic/vlic3000.pdf

FRONT COUNTER CSR

1. Verify submission of the following:
e Completed and signed VSA 22.
e Virginia title showing the same owner name as that appearing on the VSA 22.

<<<<<REVISION
e VSA 17A and other required titling documents if the vehicle is not titled in the customer’'s name. END
REVISION>>>>>

2. Collect payment by check or money order, or the completed and signed Vehicle Services Payment Authorization
(VSA 153), for:
e Replacement VIN fee,
e VIN inspection fee,
<<<<<REVISION
e Titling fee (when applicable), END REVISION>>>>>
e  Substitute title fee.

3. Inform the customer that:

* He will be contacted by a DMV Law Enforcement Special Agent in approximately 2 weeks to schedule an
appointment for VIN plate installation (when applicable) and/or VIN plate inspection.

* Once the vehicle passes inspection, a substitute title will be processed and mailed to their address on record
or to the lienholder, if a lien exists.

4. Combine all submitted documents and payment in a separate 15t class envelope addressed to:

Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles
Vehicle Branding Work Center

VIN Replacement

P.O. Box 27412

Richmond, Virginia 23269-0001

5. Place the addressed envelope in the designated area on the back counter for pickup and mailing.
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POINTS TO REMEMBER
e Vehicle Branding Work Center will:

a. Make a replacement VIN plate for the vehicle, once determined eligible,

b. Send replacement VIN plate and paperwork to DMV Law Enforcement (LE),

c. Process a substitute title, once the vehicle passes inspection by LE and paperwork is returned,
d. Mail substitute title to the owner’s address on record, or to a lienholder if a lien exists.

e LE will:

a. Contact the customer and schedule a VIN inspection, and vehicle inspection when applicable,
b. Install the VIN plate, if requested, provided the vehicle passed inspection,
o VIN plate will not be installed if there is a discrepancy between the vehicle identification number(s) and
confidential number and the vehicle is identified on the title.
c.  Return the paperwork to Vehicle Branding.

e The substitute title will indicate "Replacement VIN" in "Other Pertinent Data" field of the title.
e For homemade trailers, VIN plates can be obtained from any CSC, DMV Select, or by mailing application to Titling Work
Center in accordance with VLIC-3.235.

<<<<<REVISION
o Trailers made by a manufacturer or from a kit DO NOT QUALIFY as homemade trailers. END REVISION>>>>>
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RELATED LINKS

<<<<<REVISION

Vehicle Identification Number-Application For VLIC-3.450

Correcting Vehicle Identification Numbers VLIC-3.455

Service Provider Options for VIN Issue/Assign/Correct END REVISION>>>>>
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CONTACT
For additional information contact:
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https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/pdf/vsa22.pdf
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/pdf/vsa22.pdf
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/pdf/vsa17a.pdf
http://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/pdf/vsa153.pdf
http://mydmv/intranet/manuals/vlic/vlic3235.pdf
http://mydmv/intranet/manuals/vlic/vlic3450.pdf
http://intranet.dmv.state.va.us/intranet/manuals/vlic/vlic3455.pdf

Your CSC Manager/Assistant Manager
DMV Direct Help Desk at (804) 367-6646
DMV Law Enforcement

VSA/Vehicle Branding Work Center
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http://mydmv/intranet/administrations/vsa/tr.shtml
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