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Vehicle Licensing Guide 
Registration Renewal 

VLIC- 4.110 
Original Date: 07/01/1975 
Revision Date: 07/01/2024 
 
Registration Renewal Fees & Discounts 
Customer Requirements 
Front Counter CSR  
DMV Contact Center Agents 
Points to Remember 
Contact 

POLICY 
Title: Registration Renewal  
Effective Date: July 1, 1975   Revision Date: July 1, 2024 
Authority: Code of Virginia §§ 9.1-900 et seq., 46.2-214.3, 46.2-221.4, 46.2-646, 46.2-1176, Governor Acts of 
Assembly (CHAP003, 1-435)  
Policy:   
Motor vehicles, trailers, and semitrailer registrations are renewed on an annual basis upon application by the owner 
and payment of required renewal fees.  
Vehicle owners may choose to renew vehicle registrations for more than one year. 
Three-year vehicle registrations are renewable only when 6-months or less remain in the registration period. This 
limit applies only to 3-year registrations.  
Exceptions:   

1. Multi-year registrations are not allowed for Vehicles: 
• <<<<<REVISION 
• Registered under the International Registration Plan (IRP)   END REVISION>>>>> 
• Subject to the Federal Heavy Vehicle Use Tax (HVUT) (refer to VLIC-4.630) 
• Subject to emissions with a model year greater than 4 years are not eligible for 3 year 

registrations (refer to VLIC-4.405).  
• Issued one-year permanent truck or tractor registrations 

2. Owners or lessees of vehicles registered in Virginia who have served outside of the United States in the 
armed services of the United States, as a member of the U.S. diplomatic service, or have been a U.S. 
civilian employee, or a spouse or dependent accompanying such member are granted a 90-day grace 
period to comply with registration requirements. The grace period begins on the date they are no longer 
serving outside the U.S. 

3. DMV shall not issue or renew special license plates to any vehicle owner or co-owner who is registered 
pursuant to the Sex Offender and Crimes Against Minors Registry Act if the design of such plate, including 
any logo, emblem, seal, or symbol therein, references children or children’s programs or if any revenue-
sharing provision authorized for such special license plates contributes, directly or indirectly, to any fund or 
programs or if any revenue-sharing provision authorized for such special license plates contributes, directly 
or indirectly, to any fund or program established for the benefit of children (Va. Code § 46.2-725). 

4. Additionally, DMV shall not issue or renew any personalized license plates to any vehicle owner or co-
owner who is registered pursuant to the Sex Offender and Crimes Against Minors Registry Act if the 
requested plate combination can be read, interpreted, or understood to be a reference to children (Va. 
Code § 46.2-726). 

Return to top of page 

REGISTRATION RENEWAL FEES AND DISCOUNTS 
Customers renewing an expired registration will be required to pay an additional late fee (refer to the DMV Fee 
Chart). 
IMPORTANT: Late fees may be waived for the following reasons:  

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title9.1/chapter9/section9.1-900/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/46.2-214.3/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/46.2-221.4/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/46.2-646/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/46.2-1176/
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?122+bud+21-435
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?122+bud+21-435
https://ps1.dmv.virginia.gov/intranet/manuals/vlic/vlic4630.pdf
http://mydmv/intranet/manuals/vlic/vlic4405.pdf
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter6/section46.2-725/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter6/section46.2-726/
http://pscript/intranet/forms/pdf/dmv201.pdf
http://pscript/intranet/forms/pdf/dmv201.pdf
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o Military members, diplomatic service members, civilian employees, their spouses and/or dependents serving 
outside of the United States at the time which the vehicle registration expired and meet conditions to receive 
the late fee waiver.  

o CSC management discretion as a result of DMV error only.    
o Reactivated registration/plates (this is automatically waived by the system).   

• DMV offers multiple registration renewal discounts based on years renewed and service option used to process 
the renewal.  

• Registration renewals received through the mail may be renewed for one or two years.  

• Registrations renewed at Customer Service Centers (CSCs) and DMV Selects, as well as online may be 
renewed for one, two or three years. Refer to the Registration Discount/Service Options chart below:  

 
 
 
 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

 

NOTE: As part of DMV’s ongoing efforts to ensure the security of customer information, credit card payment is 
no longer accepted by mail for vehicle registration renewals. Customers may apply for registration renewal 
online, by visiting a CSC or DMV Select, or by mailing applications with check or money order to DMV. 

Return to top of page 

CUSTOMER REQUIREMENTS 
1. Submit one of the following applications, completed and signed: 

• Vehicle Preprinted Registration Renewal Notice (VSA 2), or   
• Vehicle Registration Application (VSA 14), when required. 

NOTE: The VSA-14 is not required when renewing a registration in service locations with credit 
card terminals, provided no changes will be made to the vehicle record. Refer to the Vehicle 
Reissue/Renewal on DMV Credit Card Terminals EZ Guide.  

o To be eligible to apply for registration renewal the applicant must be: 
 The vehicle owner, co-owner, or his agent with power of attorney (POA) granting 

legal authority to act on their behalf, 
OR 

 An applicant, other than owner, co-owner, or their agent with POA,  who can 
provide, or has in their possession, one of the following: 
 The title number and last 4 numbers of the vehicle identification number 

(VIN) 
OR  

 The current registration card. 
2. Submit documents to qualify for the 90-day grace period: 

• Document must verify that the applicant was officially stationed outside the U.S. when the 
registration expired and that it is less than 90 days have passed since their overseas duty ended. 

Registration Discount/Service Options 
Registration Renewal 
MULTI-YEAR DISCOUNT1,2 

Renewal Processing Location: 
CSC DMV SELECT Online Mail 

1-Year $1 Discount - -  - 

2-Year $2 Discount   -  

2-Year $3 Discount - -  - 

3-Year $3 Discount3     - - 

3-Year $4 Discount3 - -  - 
1The discount for one, two or three year renewals is not prorated and not refundable if the registration  
  is canceled before it expires.  
2 Three year vehicle registrations may be renewed only when 6 months or less remain to expiration. 
3 The 3-year option is not available for vehicles subject to emission requirements as the vehicle must be inspected 

every 2 years, except that new, demonstrator and used vehicles of the current and 3 previous model years may be 
eligible to be registered for 3 years because these vehicles are exempt from emissions inspections for up to 4 
years.  

http://pscript.dmv.state.va.us/intranet/forms/pdf/vsa14.pdf
http://pscript/intranet/manuals/general/regren_ccard.pdf
http://pscript/intranet/manuals/general/regren_ccard.pdf
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90-DAY GRACE PERIOD1 

Type of Service Service Confirmation Identification 

U.S. Active Duty 
Military 

• Military orders or other military documentation to verify 
overseas duty dates and location. 

• U.S. Military ID Card 
OR 

• U.S. Military Dependent ID card 

U.S. Diplomatic 
Service 

• Diplomatic orders, 
OR 

• Certification letter on U.S. government letterhead 
stating the applicant is serving overseas in a 
diplomatic capacity or is accompanying a diplomat 
(spouse and dependents). Letter must include 
applicant's name, and be signed by the applicant's 
supervisor 

• Copy of applicant's passport,  
OR 

• U.S. passport card indicating diplomatic 
status  
OR  

• Copy of their employee ID card 

U.S. Civilian 
Employee 
 

• Copy of the travel orders 
OR 

• Certification letter on U. S. government or contractor’s 
letterhead stating applicant is serving overseas as a 
U.S. civilian employee, or is accompanying the 
employee (spouse, and dependents), signed by the 
commanding officer or supervisor. 

• U.S. Military Civilian Employee or 
Government Employee Identification 
Card,  
OR  

• U.S. Military or Department of Defense 
Contractor Identification Card 

1  The registered vehicle must be: 
o  Owned or leased by a person or persons, spouses or dependents, serving outside of the United States; 
o  Have had a valid registration issued by DMV at the time the owner began service or civilian employment outside of the U.S. 
o  Be properly insured at time of renewal. 
o  Display the latest license plates and decals issued by DMV; 
o  Be operated only by qualified persons (military member, U.S. diplomatic service member, U.S. civilian employee, or accompanying 

spouse or dependent). 

<<<<<REVISION 

3. Verify vehicle information and certify vehicle insurance coverage on the credit card terminal when no 
application is required (refer to VLIC-4.405).   END REVISION>>>>> 

4. Check one-year, two-year or three-year registration renewal period.  
5. Submit fees. 

Return to top of page 

FRONT COUNTER CSR 
1. Review submitted application: 

• VSA 2, or  
• VSA 14 

o In service locations with credit card terminals, the VSA 14 is not required for registration 
renewals when no change is being made to the vehicle record.  

2. Verify that the applicant is: 
• The owner, co-owner, or their agent with POA granting legal authority to act on their behalf,  

o  Verify the vehicle owner’s/co-owner’s identity, or 

http://mydmv/intranet/manuals/vlic/vlic4405.pdf
http://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/pdf/dmv201.pdf
http://pscript/intranet/forms/pdf/vsa14.pdf
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o  For agents with POA, ensure legal authority is granted by reviewing the POA (copy is 
acceptable) and return it to the customer.  

OR 

• An applicant other than owner, co-owner, or their agent with POA, who can provide, or has in their 
possession, one of the following: 

o  The title number and the last 4 numbers of the VIN for the vehicle being renewed,  
OR 

o  The current registration card.   
NOTE: Three-year vehicle registrations may be renewed only when 6 months or less remain to the 
expiration date. This limit applies only to 3-year registrations.  

3. Offer customers the opportunity to receive renewal reminders using the E-Notification option in accordance 
with CSCOM-136. 

4. Determine the requested registration renewal period.  
<<<<<REVISION 

• MULTI-YEAR registration renewals and discounts are not available for vehicles when the following 
applies:  

o Federal Heavy Vehicle Use Tax (HVUT) (gross weight of 55,000 pounds or more). (Refer 
to VLIC-4.630.)  

o International Registration Plan (IRP). (Refer to VLIC-6.005.) 
o Quarterly registrations (gross weight of 10,001 pounds or more).  
o Emissions inspection due to expire in less than 24 months. (Refer to VLIC-4.410.) 
o One-year permanent truck or tractor registrations. (Refer to VLIC-4.240).   END 

REVISION>>>>> 
5. Enter the vehicle registration information into the system from the application, or when no application is 

required, from customer verbal responses. 
6. Ask the customer to respond to the credit card terminal prompts:  (Refer to the Vehicle Reissue/Renewal on 

DMV Credit Card Terminals EZ Guide). 
a. Correct any incorrect information in the system, as indicated by the customer, and ask them to re-

verify on the card terminal. 
<<<<<REVISION 

b. Continue processing if the customer indicates the vehicle is insured.   END REVISION>>>>> 

7.  Process the registration renewal in the system.  
a. For expired registrations, renew following the steps in the chart below:  

http://www.dmv.virginia.gov/vehicles/enotification_info.asp
http://intranet.dmv.state.va.us/intranet/manuals/cscom/cscom0136.shtml
https://ps1.dmv.virginia.gov/intranet/manuals/vlic/vlic4630.pdf
http://intranet.dmv.state.va.us/intranet/manuals/vlic/vlic6005.pdf
http://intranet.dmv.state.va.us/intranet/manuals/vlic/vlic4410.pdf
http://mydmv/intranet/manuals/vlic/vlic4240.pdf
http://pscript/intranet/manuals/general/regren_ccard.pdf
http://pscript/intranet/manuals/general/regren_ccard.pdf
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b. For registrations that cannot be renewed due to unpaid local tax or parking citation stops, or 
emissions inspection requirements, offer the option of a one-month registration extension. 

i. For customers opting for the one-month extension, verify that the current registration is: 
• Due to expire at the end of the current month, and  
• Not already issued a one-month registration extension for personal property tax 

stops, parking citation stops, or emissions inspection requirements during the 
current registration period.  

 If a one-month extension has already been issued for locality tax stops, parking 
citations, or for required emissions inspections: 

1) Advise the customer that an additional extension cannot be 
granted,  
AND 

2) Any existing stops and/or emissions inspection requirements 
must be satisfied before being eligible to renew the 
registration.  

ii. Process a one-month registration extension in accordance with data entry procedures. 
iii. Write the log number on the application. 
iv. Collect the administrative fee and prorated one-month registration fee. 

• The administrative fee applies also to no fee registrations (i.e. disabled veterans, 
state vehicles, etc.) 

v. Give the customer the:  
• Appropriate month decal (year decal may be needed if the registration is due to 

expire in December of the current year)  
• One-month registration card  

vi. Advise customers they must comply with any locality tax or parking citation stops, or 
emissions inspection requirements before they are eligible to renew the registration. 

EXPIRED REGISTRATION RENEWAL GUIDE 
PLATES EXPIRED FOR: RENEW REGISTRATION AS FOLLOWS: 

Less than one month 
• Do not change the current month expiration date 
• Collect the total fee1 for the length of the registration period  
• Issue year decals  

More than one month, less 
than twelve months 
(vehicle has been driven since 
expiration)  

• Do not change the current month expiration date  
• Collect the total fee1 for the length of the registration period  
• Issue year decals  

More than one month, less 
than twelve months1,2 
(customer states vehicle has not been 
driven since expiration) 

• Prorate from current month to the expiration date generated by the system  
• Collect prorated fee1 for the system generated expiration date  
• Give customer appropriate year decal  

More than twelve months3 

• Change the expiration date to 1,  2, or 3 years from the current month 
(customer's option)  

• Collect the total fee for the length of the new registration period (no late fee 
applies) 

• Issue month and year decals for the new registration  

1 Registrations renewed within 12 months after expiration will be charged a late fee when renewed, unless the customer is 
eligible for a waiver (refer to late fee waivers). 

  IMPORTANT: All late fee waivers must be authorized by management or designee. 
2 Registrations remain eligible for renewal up to 12 full months after its expiration. 
3 Customers can use the same set of production or personalized license plates last issued to the vehicle, provided they 

are still in their possession and the plates are expired for less than 12 months.  

http://intranet.dmv.state.va.us/intranet/manuals/cscnet/register_extend.pdf
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FRONT COUNTER CSR   (Continued) 
c. For any of the following “Restricted Plate” error messages returned by the system:  

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

i. D
O NOT DISCUSS THE RESTRICTION WITH THE CUSTOMER.  

ii. Read the following message to the customer that displays on the screen exactly as it 
appears: 

“I apologize; one or more owners of this vehicle are not eligible for 
this plate; however, I can assist with issuing another plate for this 
vehicle.” 

d. When a customer carries plates “in-hand” to a CSC requesting original issue, reissue, transfer or 
exchange to their vehicle and the following “Restricted Plate” error message is returned by the 
system: 
 
 
 
 
 

i. DO NOT DISCUSS THE RESTRICTION WITH THE CUSTOMER. 
ii. Call the SRWC at the number indicated in the error message (804-367-

1341). 
iii. Provide SRWC with: 

• Current plate type and number 
• In-hand plate type and number 
• Customer number 
• Vehicle identification number (VIN) 

iv. Request SRWC make a determination of eligibility for the plate. 
• Usually determined while on the phone with SRWC. 

v. If determined eligible by SRWC, complete the transaction per instruction from the SRWC. 
vi. If determined not eligible by SRWC: 

• Read the following message to the customer: 

“I apologize; one or more owners of this vehicle are not eligible 
for this plate; however, I can assist with issuing another plate for 
this vehicle.” 

vii. If SRWC is unable to make a determination of eligibility while on the 
phone follow SRWC instructions for next steps.  

f. If the customer has further questions or concerns regarding any of the restrictions above, be 
courteous and provide them with the contact information for DMV Direct Call Center:  

 Phone: 804-497-7100, or 
 Email DMV Direct from DMV’s website, www.dmv.virginia.gov by: 

 Selecting Contact US at the top of the home page,  
 Under Email, select secure online form. 

 

NOTE: Effective July 1, 2016, according to Virginia Code §§ 46.2-725 or 46.2-726, DMV cannot 
issue or renew any personalized or special license plates for any owner or co-owner of a vehicle 
who is registered pursuant to Virginia Code § 9.1-900, et seq., if any of the following is true: 

SYSTEM RESTRICTED PLATE ERROR MESSAGES 

Special Plate Restricted Messages Personalized Plate Restricted Messages 
• Restricted Plate Type Purchase-RPLA • Restricted Plate Message Purchase-RPLA 
• Restricted Plate Type Renewal-RPLA • Restricted Plate Message Renewal-RPLA 
• Restricted Plate Type Reservation-RPLA • Restricted Plate Message Reservation-RPLA 
• Restricted Plate Type Transfer-RPLA • Restricted Plate Message Transfer-RPLA 

SYSTEM RESTRICTED PLATE ERROR MESSAGE 
In-Hand Plate Restriction 

• M9440 Restricted Message Call Special Registration at (804) 367-1341 - RPLA 

http://www.dmv.virginia.gov/
http://www.dmv.virginia.gov/general/#utilities/contact.asp
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/dmv-contactus/#/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter6/section46.2-725/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter6/section46.2-726/
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FRONT COUNTER CSR   (Continued) 
    For the personalized plate messages: 

Requested registration numbers or letters or combination thereof could be read, 
interpreted, or understood to be a reference to children. 

    For special license plates: 
Design of such special license plates, including any logo, emblem, seal, or symbol therein, 
references children or children’s programs or if any revenue-sharing provision authorized 
for such special license plates contributes, directly or indirectly, to any fund or program 
established for the benefit of children.  

8. Collect fees.  
• Renewal fee(s),   
• Late fee for expired registrations, when applicable, (refer to the DMV Fee Chart). 

o All late fee waivers that are not automatically waived by the system must be authorized by 
management or designee.  
IMPORTANT:  If there is no second person available at a DMV Select, customers must be 
sent to the nearest CSC to process their expired registration with a late fee waiver.   

o Waive late fees for expired registrations in the following situations: 
 Persons serving outside the United States at the time the vehicle registration 

expired.  
a. Verify applicant is one of the following: 

o Civilian employee of the United States government, any agency 
or contractor, 

o Member of the diplomatic service of the United States, 
o Active duty United States military service member, 
o Spouse and Dependents of any listed above.  

b. Verify submission of required documents showing overseas service 
(refer to the 90-Day Grace Period guidelines above). 

c. Verify the vehicle for which late fees are being waived: 
o Is owned or leased by the person or persons, spouses or 

dependents who are serving outside of the United States,  
o Had a valid Virginia registration at the time the owner began 

service or civilian employment outside of the United States,  
o Is properly insured at the time of renewal.  

 CSC management may use manager’s discretion to waive late fees for DMV 
errors only.      

 Reactivated registration/plates  
 Customers who renew a reactivated registration within 30 days of its 

reactivation date are exempted from paying the transaction late fee 
automatically by the system (refer to VLIC-4.105).    

9. Continue processing registration in accordance with VLIC-4.000.  

Return to top of page 

DMV CONTACT CENTER AGENTS 
1. DMV Contact Center service representatives are responsible for offering the E-notification option to every 

customer served. Refer to Electronic Notification (E-Notification) Requests for guidelines. 
2. Certain information on a vehicle record will stop a vehicle renewal notice (VSA 2) from being generated by 

the system If customers indicate they did not receive a renewal notice, DMV Direct Agents should check for 
stops on the customer’s record (CUSINF). For complying and removing stops, refer to Stops.  

3. The VSA 2 vehicle renewal notice requires the signature of the applicant, date, daytime telephone number, 
vehicle registration renewal fee payment by check, or money order (payable to DMV), and a check mark in 
the appropriate box to indicate whether the vehicle is insured or not. 

4. If customers do not have the vehicle renewal notice (VSA 2) at the time of the transaction, they can apply by 
completing the “Application for Registration” (VSA 14) to renew the registration. 

5. To determine if a local vehicle registration (LVR) fee is applicable, refer to  VLIC-4.415 .  

http://pscript/intranet/forms/pdf/dmv201.pdf
http://mydmv/intranet/manuals/vlic/vlic4105.pdf
http://mydmv/intranet/manuals/vlic/vlic4000.pdf
http://intranet.dmv.state.va.us/intranet/know_base/reference/e_notification.shtml
http://mydmv/intranet/manuals/vlic/vlic4445.pdf
http://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/pdf/vsa14.pdf
https://ps1.dmv.virginia.gov/intranet/manuals/vlic/vlic4415.pdf
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6. For customers applying by phone for issuance or renewal of special plates or a personalized plate 
message for which one of the following Restricted Plate Error Messages is returned by the system: 

 

 

 

 
 

 

OR 
For customers calling to find out why they were restricted from issuance or renewal of special plates or a 
personalized plate message at a CSC, 
OR 
For customers calling in after receiving a letter from DMV in the mail indicating they are restricted by the 
system from issuance or renewal of special plates or a personalized plate message:  

a. Authenticate that the caller is the owner or a co-owner of the vehicle. 
o     If someone other than the owner or a co-owner is on the phone, advise the caller that the 

owner or co-owner must call for information about the requested personalized message or 
special plate.  

b. Check Vehicle Notes in the system for the vehicle the caller is attempting to register. In some 
cases, the owner or co-owner who is the restricted party will be identified by a note in the following 
format “RPLA – Owner#,” where the owner number corresponds to the order in which the owners 
are listed on the vehicle record (owner 1, owner 2, etc.). If a note exists, and the caller is NOT the 
restricted party, do not identify to the caller which owner is the restricted party.  

c. Advise the owner or co-owner of the following information: 
Effective July 1, 2016, according to Virginia Code §§ 46.2-725 or 46.2-726, DMV cannot issue or 
renew any personalized or special license plates for any owner or co-owner of a vehicle who is 
registered pursuant to the Va. Code § 9.1-900, et seq., if any of the following is true:  

    For the personalized plate messages: 

Requested registration numbers or letters or combination thereof could be read, 
interpreted, or understood to be a reference to children. 

     For special license plates: 
Design of such special license plates, including any logo, emblem, seal, or symbol 
therein, references children or children’s programs or if any revenue-sharing provision 
authorized for such special license plates contributes, directly or indirectly, to any fund 
or program established for the benefit of children.  

d. Offer to assist the customer with issuing another plate for the vehicle.  
7. Customers paying by credit card may renew vehicle registrations using one of the following preferred service 

options: 
• Online at www.dmv.virginia.gov  
• Visiting a DMV Select 

Customers paying by check or money order may renew vehicle registrations by mail to the address below: 
Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles 
Attn: Renewal Center 
P.O. Box 27412 
Richmond, VA 23269-0001   

Customers should allow 15 days to receive their decals before contacting DMV when renewing via one of 
DMV’s preferred service options. Most renewed decals are received within 5 days (mail delivery times vary).    

8. DMV accepts Discover, MasterCard, VISA, and American Express credit cards.  
9. The Special Registration Work Center processes the following vehicle registration renewals:  

• Internet - Source Code 200  
• Mail-In - Source Codes 201 & 202.    

SYSTEM RESTRICTED PLATE ERROR MESSAGES 

Restricted Special Plate  Restricted Personalized Plate Message  
• Restricted Plate Type Purchase-RPLA • Restricted Plate Message Purchase-RPLA 
• Restricted Plate Type Renewal-RPLA • Restricted Plate Message Renewal-RPLA 
• Restricted Plate Type Reservation-RPLA • Restricted Plate Message Reservation-RPLA 
• Restricted Plate Type Transfer-RPLA • Restricted Plate Message Transfer-RPLA 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter6/section46.2-725/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter6/section46.2-726/
http://www.dmv.virginia.gov/
http://pscript/intranet/know_base/workcenters_new.asp#24
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10. DMV Contact Center agents cannot assist customers with answering Personal Property Tax Relief (PPTR) 
questions; however, agents can direct the customer to contact the IRS at 1-800-829-1040. 

Return to top of page 

POINTS TO REMEMBER 
1. Customers can renew their registration early. Three year registrations are renewable only when 6 months or less 

remain in the registration period. This limit applies to 3-year registrations only.  
2. DMV mails registration renewal notifications approximately 60 days prior to the expiration date of the registration.  

3. Customers may opt to receive electronic registration renewal notices by email or text message (E-Notification) 
instead of paper renewal notices. Once the owner opts in for E-notifications, both driver’s license and vehicle 
renewal reminders will be sent electronically.      

• Customers who opt in to receive E-Notifications also receive reminders approximately 45 days prior to 
the expiration of their registration.    

4. A late fee is collected on registration renewal transactions that occur after the expiration date. No late fees are 
charged for Disabled Veteran and Purple Heart plates. 

5. The late fee is waived automatically by the system for registrations that are renewed within 30 days of its 
reactivation date (refer to VLIC-4.105).  
IMPORTANT: All late fee waivers that are not automatically generated by the system must be authorized by 
management.  

• If members of management are processing a transaction that includes a late fee waiver, they must 
request a manager or designee to authorize the transaction.  

• When a late fee waiver is authorized, the system automatically waives the service fee. 
• DMV Select Offices must have a second person available to authorize the late fee waiver. If no one is 

available, the customer must be sent to the nearest CSC.    
6. Two or more vehicles owned by the same person may be scheduled to expire within the same registration period 

upon request by prorating registration fees. 
7. A one-time, one-month registration extension may be granted for the following conditions providing the current 

registration is due to expire within the month and no other one-month extensions have been granted during the 
current registration period: 

• Personal property tax stops 
• Parking citations stops 
• Emissions inspection due 

8. Unpaid local tax or parking citation stop (VRWS or VRW1) registration extensions are issued only at CSCs or 
DMV Selects.  

9. Emissions inspection registration extensions are issued at CSCs, DMV Selects, or online dealer locations. 
10. For registrations expired for less than 12 months, the safety inspection, emergency medical, motorcycle safety, 

and emissions inspection fees are not included in prorated renewal fees (refer to VLIC-4.615). 
11. Fees for Local Vehicle Registration (LVR) and Electric Vehicle Tax (for electric motor vehicles) are prorated and 

included in prorated renewal fees for expired registrations (refer to VLIC-4.615). 
12. No person other than the owner or co-owner or their agent with power of attorney may request and obtain an 

original issue of license plates. 
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CONTACT 
For additional information contact: 

• Your CSC Manager/Assistant Manager 
• DMV Direct Help Desk at (804) 367-6646 
• VSA/Titling Work Center 

Return to top of page 

http://www.dmv.virginia.gov/vehicles/enotification_info.asp
http://www.dmv.virginia.gov/vehicles/enotification_info.asp
http://mydmv/intranet/manuals/vlic/vlic4105.pdf
https://ps1.dmv.virginia.gov/intranet/manuals/vlic/vlic4615.pdf
https://ps1.dmv.virginia.gov/intranet/manuals/vlic/vlic4615.pdf
http://pscript/intranet/know_base/workcenters_new.asp#26
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