# **Vehicle Licensing Guide**

Reissue of License Plates/Decals VLIC-4.115

**Original Date:** 07/01/1975 **Revision Date:** 09/25/2022

Eliaibility

Customer Requirements
Front Counter CSR
DMV Contact Center Actions
Points to Remember
Related Links
Contact

## **POLICY**

Title: License Plates/Decals-Reissue

Effective Date: July 1, 1975 Revision Date: 03/25/2017

Authority: Code of Virginia §§ 9.1-900 et seq., 46.2-607, 46.2-692, 46.2-692.2

#### Policy:

DMV will **REISSUE** license plates and/or decals between registration renewal periods when the owner, co-owner, or their agent (with power of attorney) surrenders the current plates or decals (when available) and applies for replacements due to the following reasons:

- Lost Decals
- Stolen Illegible
- Mutilated/destroyed
- Confiscated
- Decals placed incorrectly on license plate
- Exchanged for different plate type or plate number
- Administrative (defective, mismatched, or issued incorrectly (DMV error))

When, at time of reissue, customers request a different plate type and/or plate number, the system will calculate any increased plate fees and prorate them (when applicable) over the remainder of the registration period, charging the greater of either 1) the total fees calculated, or 2) a minimum \$10 fee.

A fee of \$1 is charged for the reissue of decals.

License plates or decals may be replaced only twice during the current registration period due to loss or mutilation, unless it is determined the plates or decals were lost or mutilated without the fault of the owner(s).

#### <<<<REVISION

# **Exception:**

No reissue fee is charged when customers request handicap license plates within the current registration period. However, when requesting handicapped plates on a special plate background customers will pay the special plate fee and for personalization, a prorated personalization fee. **END REVISION>>>>** 

No reissue fee is charged to customers who are required to replace/exchange existing special plates or personalized plates due to being registered pursuant to the Sex Offender and Crimes Against Minors Registry Act (Virginia Code § 9.1-900, et seq.), provided the reissued plates/message are of equal or lesser value.

No reissue fee is charged when requesting new license plates or plate numbers when renewing the vehicle registration. Process new plate requests made at the time of renewal in accordance with <u>VLIC-4.110</u>.

License plates and decals issued which are determined by DMV to be defective, mismatched, or issued in error are reissued at no fee to the customer.

Return to top of page

# **ELIGIBILITY**

# <<<<REVISION

Applicant must:

- Be the owner, co-owner, or agent with power of attorney (POA) granting legal authority to act on their behalf.
  - If the customer is someone, other than the owner, co-owner, or agent with POA, who can provide the vehicle's title number and last 4 of the vehicle identification number (VIN) OR the current registration card, the customer may answer the insurance questions on the credit card terminal and receive the reissued license plate and/or decal (as applicable). **END REVISION>>>>**

VLIC-4.115 Page 1 of 6

- · Provide evidence of ownership (registration card),
- Surrender existing plate/decals (if available),
- Indicate on application the reason for the reissue, the plate type if exchanging plates, or character combination if personalizing the plate.
- Pay reissue fee plus any increased plate fees if requesting different plates, personalized plates, or changes to existing personalized plates.

Return to top of page

# **CUSTOMER REQUIREMENTS**

- 1. Submit completed and signed:
  - a. Vehicle Registration Application (VSA 14), or
  - b. License Plate Application (VSA 10), or
  - c. Request to Retain Stolen Personalized License Plates (VSA 160).
    - i. The VSA 160 is only used if a VCIN stop exists on the customer's record.
  - The VSA-14 is not required in service locations with credit card terminals when reissuing a registration, provided no changes will be made to the vehicle record. The customer will verify vehicle information on the credit card terminal. Refer to the <a href="Vehicle Reissue/Renewal">Vehicle Reissue/Renewal</a> on <a href="DMV Credit Card Terminals EZ">DMV Credit Card Terminals EZ</a> Guide.
    - To be eligible to apply for the reissue of license plates and/or decals the applicant must be:
      - The vehicle owner, co-owner, or their agent with power of attorney (POA) granting legal authority to act on their behalf

OR

- An applicant, other than owner, co-owner, or their agent with POA, who can provide, or has in their possession, one of the following:
  - The title number and last 4 numbers of the vehicle identification number (VIN)

OR

- The current registration card.
- 2. Surrender existing plates and/or decals (if available).
- 3. Submit current vehicle registration card.
- 4. Verify vehicle information on the credit card terminal.
- Pav appropriate fees.

Return to top of page

### FRONT COUNTER CSR

- 1. Verify accurate completion of the VSA 14, VSA 10, or VSA 160 (when required).
  - The VSA 14 is not required for registration reissues in service locations with credit card terminals, provided no other changes will be made to the record (refer to the <u>Vehicle Reissue/Renewal on DMV Credit Card Terminals EZ Guide</u>).
  - Any time the vehicle information (gross weight, vehicle color, body type, etc.) is changed in the system
    as part of the reissue transaction, or the license plates require submission of certifications or other
    documents to authorize its issuance, verify submission of any additional required documents.
  - If the customer presents a VSA 160, verify that a VCIN stop exists for the customer's plate.
    - 1. If no stop exists, request the customer complete a <u>VSA 14</u>. Discard the VSA 160.
    - 2. If a stop exists, continue using the VSA 160.
- 2. Verify that the applicant is:
  - The owner, co-owner, or his agent with POA granting legal authority to act on their behalf.
    - Verify the vehicle owner's identity, or
    - For agents with POA, ensure legal authority is granted by reviewing the POA (copy is acceptable) and return it to the customer.

OR

 An applicant, other than the owner, co-owner, or their agent with POA, who can provide, or has in their possession, one of the following:

VLIC-4.115 Page 2 of 6

- $_{\odot}$   $\,$  The title number and the last 4 numbers of the VIN for the vehicle being renewed,  $\,$  OR  $\,$
- o The current registration card.
- 3. Inquire on the vehicle record to verify the owner's customer number and ownership of the vehicle before reissuing plates or decals.
- 4. Collect the surrendered plates and/or decals (when applicable) and current registration card.
- 5. Enter the vehicle registration information into the system from the application, or if no application is required, from customer verbal responses (refer to the <u>Vehicle Reissue/Renewal on DMV Credit Card Terminals EZ Guide</u>).
- 6. Customer verifies vehicle information at the card swipe terminal.
  - Correct any incorrect information in the system, as indicated by the customer, and ask them to re-verify
    on the card terminal.

NOTE: Customers are not required to verify insurance for registration reissue transactions.

- Review the application to determine what plate type and/or personalization is being requested by the customer (if applicable).
  - a. Collect required certification of eligibility for newly requested special plates (Rescue Squad, Purple Heart, Medal of Honor, etc.), if applicable.
    - Customers who are requesting a reissue of the same type of special plate for which
      certification is required are not required to re-certify.
    - Customers must have received multiple awards OF THE SAME TYPE to qualify for the following plates:
      - o Bronze Star Awards (multiple)
- Bronze Star Motorcycle Awards (multiple)
- Purple Heart Awards (multiple)
- Purple Heart Motorcycle Awards (multiple)
- o Legion of Merit Awards (multiple)

**EXAMPLE:** To qualify for the multiple Purple Heart Awards plates showing "Three Awards", a customer must submit the <u>required certification</u> for that type of award showing they have received **3 Purple Heart Awards**; not one Bronze Star, one Legion of Merit, and one Purple Heart award. Multiple awards plates are not issued for multiple **unlike** awards.

b. For any of the following "Restricted Plate" error messages returned by the system:

SYSTEM RESTRICTED PLATE ERROR MESSAGES	
Restricted Special Plate	Personalized Plate Restricted Messages
Restricted Plate Type Purchase-RPLA	Restricted Plate Message Purchase-RPLA
Restricted Plate Type Renewal-RPLA	Restricted Plate Message Renewal-RPLA
Restricted Plate Type Reservation-RPLA	Restricted Plate Message Reservation-RPLA
Restricted Plate Type Transfer-RPLA	Restricted Plate Message Transfer-RPLA

- i. DO NOT DISCUSS THE RESTRICTION WITH THE CUSTOMER:
- ii. Read the following message to the customer that displays on the screen exactly as it appears:

"I apologize; one or more owners of this vehicle are not eligible for this plate; however, I can assist with issuing another plate for this vehicle."

c. When a customer carries plates "in-hand" to a CSC requesting original issue, reissue, transfer or exchange to their vehicle and the following "Restricted Plate" error message is returned by the system:

SYSTEM RESTRICTED PLATE ERROR MESSAGE		
In-Hand Plate Restriction		
M9440 Restricted Message Call Special Registration at (804) 367-1341 - RPLA		

- i. DO NOT DISCUSS THE RESTRICTION WITH THE CUSTOMER.
- ii. Call the SRWC at the number indicated in the error message (804-367-1341).

VLIC-4.115 Page 3 of 6

- iii. Provide SRWC with:
  - Current plate type and number
  - In-hand plate type and number
  - Customer number
  - Vehicle identification number (VIN)
- iv. Request SRWC make a determination of eligibility for the plate.
  - Usually determined while on the phone with SRWC.
- v. If determined eligible by SRWC, complete the transaction per instruction from the SRWC.
- vi. If determined not eligible by SRWC:
  - Read the following message to the customer:

"I apologize; one or more owners of this vehicle are not eligible for this plate; however, I can assist with issuing another plate for this vehicle."

- vii. If SRWC is unable to make a determination of eligibility while on the phone follow SRWC instructions for next steps.
- d. For a customer requesting reissue of a personalized plate with a stolen plate stop (STLP) on record:
  - Forward the completed <u>VSA 160</u> to the Special Registration work center via landing zone.
    - i. The work center will review the application and authorize the reissue.
    - ii. A response will come back via landing zone within an hour.
  - b. Continue processing the registration reissue.
- e. If the customer has further questions or concerns regarding any of the restrictions above, be courteous and provide them with the contact information for DMV Direct Call Center:
  - Phone: 804-497-7100, or
  - Email DMV Direct from DMV's website, www.dmv.virginia.gov by:
    - Selecting Contact US at the top of the home page,
    - Under Email, select secure online form.

**NOTE:** Effective July 1, 2016, in accordance with Va. Code § 46.2-726, DMV cannot issue or renew any personalized license plate for any owner or co-owner of a vehicle who is registered pursuant to Va. Code § 9.1-900, et seq., if the requested registration numbers or letters or combination thereof could be read, interpreted, or understood to be a reference to children.

- 8. If the vehicle's registration is close to expiration, advise the customer of the opportunity to avoid the reissue fee by renewing the registration (may renew up to 12 months early for 1 & 2 year renewals and up to 6 months early for 3 year renewals) in accordance with <u>VLIC-4.110</u>.
  - It is important to give the customer this option, avoiding the reissue fee and a second visit to DMV.
- 9. Collect appropriate fees.
  - No reissue fee is charged for handicap plates. However, special plate and personalization fees apply.
  - A reissue fee is charged for all other no-fee plates, including but not limited to reissued Purple Heart Plates, Disabled Veteran Plates, etc.
  - No reissue fee is charged when plates are reissued due to manufacturer defects or number mismatches, or if determined that an error was made by DMV when issued (refer to <u>VLIC-4.635</u>).
  - No reissue fee is charged to customers who are required to replace/exchange existing special plates or
    personalized plates due to being registered pursuant to Virginia Code § 9.1-900, et seq., provided the
    reissued plates/message are of equal or lesser value. Process transaction using the reason "Customer
    Request".
- 10. If the requested license plates or decals are not in stock (personalized plate, permanent plates, or other):
  - a. Advise the customer that the requested plates will be mailed to the address on file.
  - b. Issue multi use 30-day synthetic paper license plates (refer to <u>VLIC-4.225</u>).

Issue decals for existing plates when applicable.

- 11. Process the reissue and provide the customer with the:
  - New registration card,
  - License plates, and/or
  - Decals displaying the same month and year as those on the original plates.

VLIC-4.115 Page 4 of 6

- 12. For applicants with a reissue of a stolen personalized plate, stamp the <u>VSA 160</u> with the CSR stamp and return the application to the customer.
- 13. Continue processing registration in accordance with <u>VLIC-4.000</u>.

Return to top of page

### <<<<REVISION

#### **DMV CONTACT CENTER ACTIONS**

- Do NOT promise the acceptability of documents to customers required to come to DMV. END REVISION>>>>
- Do NOT use phrases like:
  - "You have everything you need, just go to a CSC and they will issue your plates."
- Do use phrasing such as:
  - "The documents you have listed sound like they may be acceptable: The CSC will make the final determination of your eligibility to receive your registration and plates."
- For customers **applying by phone** for issuance of special plates or a personalized plate message for which one of the following Restricted Plate Error Messages is returned by the system:

SYSTEM RESTRICTED PLATE ERROR MESSAGES	
Restricted Special Plate	Restricted Personalized Plate Message
Restricted Plate Type Purchase-RPLA	Restricted Plate Message Purchase-RPLA
Restricted Plate Type Renewal-RPLA	Restricted Plate Message Renewal-RPLA
Restricted Plate Type Reservation-RPLA	Restricted Plate Message Reservation-RPLA
Restricted Plate Type Transfer-RPLA	Restricted Plate Message Transfer-RPLA

OR

For customers **calling to find out why they were restricted** from issuance or renewal of special plates or a personalized plate message at a CSC,

OR

For customers **calling in after receiving a letter** from DMV in the mail indicating they are restricted by the system from issuance or renewal of special plates or a personalized plate message:

- a. Authenticate that the caller is the owner or a co-owner of the vehicle.
  - If someone other than the owner or a co-owner is on the phone, advise the caller that the owner or co-owner must call for information about the requested personalized message or special plate.
- b. Check Vehicle Notes in the system for the vehicle the caller is attempting to register. In some cases, the owner or co-owner who is the restricted party will be identified by a note in the following format "RPLA Owner#," where the owner number corresponds to the order in which the owners are listed on the vehicle record (owner 1, owner 2, etc.). If a note exists, and the caller is NOT the restricted party, do not identify to the caller which owner is the restricted party.
- c. Advise the owner or co-owner of the following information:

Effective July 1, 2016, according to Virginia Code §§ 46.2-725 or 46.2-726, DMV cannot issue or renew any personalized or special license plates for any owner or co-owner of a vehicle who is registered pursuant to the Va. Code § 9.1-900, et seq., if any of the following is true:

o For the personalized plate messages:

Requested registration numbers or letters or combination thereof could be read, interpreted, or understood to be a reference to children.

o For special license plates:

Design of such special license plates, including any logo, emblem, seal, or symbol therein, references children or children's programs or if any revenue-sharing provision authorized for such special license plates contributes, directly or indirectly, to any fund or program established for the benefit of children.

d. Offer to assist the customer with issuing another plate for the vehicle.

Return to top of page

VLIC-4.115 Page 5 of 6

## **POINTS TO REMEMBER**

- Only the following may apply for a reissue of license plates:
  - The vehicle owner, co-owner, or his agent with power of attorney granting legal authority to act on their behalf. OR
  - An applicant, other than the owner, co-owner, or their agent with POA, who can provide the title number and last 4 numbers of the VIN or has in their possession the current registration card.
- The system will return an error message if a 3<sup>rd</sup> or subsequent reissue of license plates and/or decals are requested within the same registration period. For 3<sup>rd</sup> or subsequent reissues CSRs must process an original license plate and collect the regular registration fee prorated by the system for the remainder of the registration period.
- A personalized plate fee will not be charged again if the customer requests the same character combination
  on the reissued plates. Any changes to the character combination will require a new reserve fee. Other fees
  may still apply.
- If the customer applies to change the vehicle weight on the registration, any increase in fees will be prorated by the system for the remainder of the registration period.

#### <<<<REVISION

Local Vehicle Registration (LVR) fees that apply (if applicable) will be calculated and charged by the system.
 END REVISION>>>>

Return to top of page

## **RELATED LINKS**

**Special Plates Table** 

Return to top of page

#### CONTACT

For additional information contact:

- Your CSC Manager/Assistant Manager
- DMV Direct Help Desk at (804) 367-6646
- VSA/ Titling Work Center

Return to top of page

VLIC-4.115 Page 6 of 6