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POLICY   
Title: Transfer of License Plates  

Effective Date: July 1, 1975 Revision Date: September 10, 2016 

Authority: Code of Virginia § 46.2-693 <<<<<REVISION 9.1-900 et seq., 46.2-725, 46.2-726 END REVISION>>>>> 
Policy:   
DMV shall, upon application by the owner, transfer license plates and registration from a vehicle currently titled and 
registered in the owner’s name to another vehicle titled in the owner’s name.  
DMV shall collect a transfer fee of $2 when both vehicles require identical registration fees. 
DMV shall collect a transfer fee of $2 plus the difference in registration fees between the two vehicles if the second vehicle 
requires a greater registration fee. 
Exception:    
<<<<<REVISION 
DMV shall not transfer special plates or personalized plates to any vehicle owner or co-owner who is registered pursuant to 
the Sex Offender and Crimes Against Minors Registry Act if the plate or requested plate combination can be read, 
interpreted, or understood to be a reference to children. END REVISION>>>>> 
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CUSTOMER REQUIREMENTS  
1. For vehicles not yet titled in Virginia, submit the completed and signed Application for Certificate of Title and Registration 

(VSA-17A) and/or Virginia or other state certificate of title along with other required ownership documents and fees for 
titling a motor vehicle.  

2. Request a transfer of license plates and registration to a different vehicle owned by the applicant. 
3. For vehicles already titled in Virginia in the owner’s name, submit a completed License Plate Application (VSA-10) or 

Application for Registration (VSA-14).  
4. Pay required transfer fee plus additional fees calculated by the system for a weight increase, if applicable.  
5. Pay required titling fees and sales and use tax, when applicable.  
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FRONT COUNTER CSR             
1. For vehicles not yet titled in Virginia, process a title transaction in accordance with VLIC-3.000 before registering the 

vehicle and issuing license plates. 
2. Verify accurate completion of the VSA-10 or VSA-14 for already titled vehicles. 

• Verify that the owner (or one of the owners) of the vehicle to which the license plates are currently issued is also 
the owner (or one of the owners) of the vehicle to which the license plates will be transferred. 

3. Verify that the customer has: 
• Certified on the application that the vehicle has the required minimum insurance coverage, or  
• Paid the Uninsured Motor Vehicle (UMV) fee in accordance with VLIC-4.405. 

4. Ask the customer if the plates being transferred are available for use and are legible. 
• For license plates that are mutilated, illegible, missing, or otherwise not available for use, transfer the plates 

before reissuing them to avoid problems with prior vehicle records.  
5. For license plates carried in-hand to a CSC for transfer, if the system returns the “restricted plate” error message below: 

“M9440 Restricted Message Call Special Registration at (804) 367-1341 – RPLA” 
a. Call SRWC at the number indicated requesting a determination of eligibility to transfer the plates and follow 

SRWC instructions.  
b. If determined eligible by SRWC, complete the transaction per instruction from the SRWC. 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/46.2-693/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title9.1/chapter9/section9.1-900/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/46.2-725/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/46.2-726/
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/pdf/vsa17a.pdf
http://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/pdf/vsa10.pdf
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/pdf/vsa14.pdf
http://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/pdf/dmv201.pdf
https://ps1.dmv.virginia.gov/intranet/manuals/vlic/vlic3000.pdf
http://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/pdf/vsa10.pdf
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/pdf/vsa14.pdf
http://www.dmv.virginia.gov/vehicles/#insurance.asp
https://ps1.dmv.virginia.gov/intranet/manuals/vlic/vlic4405.pdf
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c. If determined not eligible by SRWC: 
o DO NOT DISCUSS THE RESTRICTION WITH THE CUSTOMER 
o Read the following message to the customer: 

“I apologize; one or more owners of this vehicle are not eligible for this 
plate; however, I can assist with issuing another plate for this vehicle.” 

o Refer to guidelines in VLIC-4.420.  
<<<<<REVISION 
6. Transfer the license plates and registration. 

• If the vehicle to which the license plates are being transferred requires a different type of license plates than 
those currently registered to the vehicle being transferred from (e.g., passenger to truck, motorcycle to 
passenger, etc.), process a transfer/exchange transaction separate from the title transaction  

7. Collect the transfer fee plus any additional fees calculated by the system for a weight increase, when applicable.         
END REVISION>>>>> 

• Any difference in registration fees between the two vehicles as a result of the second vehicle requiring a greater 
registration or plate type fee. 

• Local Vehicle Registration fees (if applicable) in accordance with VLIC-4.415. 
• Electric License Tax (if applicable) (refer to VLIC-4.615).  

o For registrations transferred from a vehicle that operates on gasoline or diesel fuels to a vehicle that is 
electric or hybrid electric, the electric license tax is prorated for the time remaining in the current 
registration period.       

NOTE: Differences in registration fees for plates transferred to vehicles in a lower weight class are not refunded. 
8. Continue processing registration in accordance with VLIC-4.000. 
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DMV CUSTOMER CONTACT CENTER ACTIONS 

• Transfers of registration are requested when: 
o A vehicle owner is physically taking the license plates and putting them on another vehicle owned by them, OR 
o Ownership of a vehicle is being transferred and one owner is remaining the same. 

NOTE: The owner (or one of the owners) of the vehicle to which the license plates are currently issued must also be 
the owner (or one of the owners) of the vehicle to which the plates will be transferred. 

• Advise customers to bring the Virginia registration for the vehicle the plates were last registered to as evidence of 
ownership. 

• For customers transferring license plates to a vehicle being titled in their name, advise the customer to write the plate 
number of the plates being transferred on the VSA-17A or in Section C of the Virginia Certificate of Title.  

• For transfers of license plates to a vehicle of a higher weight class, the the difference in the registration fees are collected.  
Example: Plates being transfer from a vehicle with the empty weight of 3456 pounds that costs $40.75 transferred to a 
vehicle the weighs 4567 pounds that costs $45.75 would require a $5.00 fee along with the $2.00 transfer fee to upgrade. 

<<<<<REVISION 
• If the plate is being transferred to a vehicle of lower weight class, then the difference is the registration fee is not refunded. 

Example: Plates being transferred from a vehicle with the gross weight of 6,562 pounds that costs $45.75 are transferred 
to a vehicle that weighs 3,876 pounds which costs $40.75, the $5.00 difference in weigh class is not refunded and the 
$2.00 transfer fee will be collected.     END REVISION>>>>> 
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POINTS TO REMEMBER 
• If the license plates being transferred are mutilated, illegible, missing, or unavailable for use, transfer the plates before 

reissuing them to avoid problems with prior vehicle records.  
• Deactivated registration and plates must be reactivated before transferring. The CSR must indicate in the system at time 

of reactivation that the plates are going to be transferred. 
• For transfer of plates to or from a leased vehicle, refer to VLIC-4.130.  
• The owner of the vehicle to which the license plates are currently issued must also be the owner of the vehicle to which 

the license plates will be transferred.  
Return to top of page 

CONTACT 
For additional information contact : 

• Your CSC Manager/Assistant Manager 
• DMV Customer Contact Center Help Desk at (804) 367-6646 
• VSA/Titling Work Center/Special Registration Work Center 

https://ps1.dmv.virginia.gov/intranet/manuals/vlic/vlic4420.pdf
http://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/pdf/dmv201.pdf
https://ps1.dmv.virginia.gov/intranet/manuals/vlic/vlic4415.pdf
https://ps1.dmv.virginia.gov/intranet/manuals/vlic/vlic4615.pdf
https://ps1.dmv.virginia.gov/intranet/manuals/vlic/vlic4000.pdf
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/pdf/vsa17a.pdf
https://ps1.dmv.virginia.gov/intranet/manuals/vlic/vlic4130.pdf
https://ps1.dmv.virginia.gov/intranet/know_base/workcenters_new.asp#26
https://ps1.dmv.virginia.gov/intranet/know_base/workcenters_new.asp#24
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