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Overview

Customer Requirements-Vehicle Repairs by Garage Owner
Front Counter CSR-Vehicle Repairs by Garage Owner
DMV Customer Contact Center Actions

Points to Remember

Contact
POLICY
Title: Emergency Transfer of License Plates
Effective Date: October 1, 1975 | Revision Date:
Authority: Code of Virginia §§ 46.2-719, 46.2-720
Policy:
DMV grants to licensed motor vehicle dealers or garage owners a special permit for the use of license plates on a
vehicle other than the vehicle for which the license plates were issued.
Exception: N/A
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OVERVIEW
There are two types of permits for the temporary transfer of license plates to another vehicle:
e Licensed Motor Vehicle Dealer Repair Shop Emergency Permit to Transfer License Plates (VSA 39).
e Emergency Permit to Transfer License Plates to A Vehicle Owned by A Person Operating A Garage While the
Vehicle is Being Repaired (VSA 39A).

These permits are authorized for use when:
e The vehicle for which the license plates were issued is undergoing repairs in the garage owner’s or licensed motor
vehicle dealer’s repair shop, and

e The vehicle owner needs emergency transportation, and

e The license plates are being used on a vehicle owned by the garage owner or dealer in whose repair shop the vehicle
is being repaired.

Garage owners MUST have the permit validated at a CSC by a DMV representative prior to transferring the plates.

Permits granted to motor vehicle dealers do not need to be validated and are good as long as the emergency exists but no
longer than 5 days from the date of issuance. Dealer may issue a one-time only renewal permit for an additional 5 days
provided the emergency persists.

Permits granted to garage owners are good as long as the vehicle is being repaired, but no longer than 5 days, and cannot be
renewed.
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<<<<<REVISION
CUSTOMER REQUIREMENTS-VEHICLE UNDERGOING REPAIRS BY GARAGE OWNER
Vehicle Owner Must: END REVISION>>>>>

1. Complete the customer information section of the VSA-39A, and submit the form to the garage owner representative.

e The VSA-39A is a pre-numbered carbon-set form used by garage owners to temporarily transfer license plates
from a customer's vehicle while undergoing repairs to a vehicle owned by the garage.

2. Carry the License Holder copy of the permit and the current registration card for his vehicle when operating the
garage-owned vehicle.

3. Return the expired permit and the vehicle to the garage.

Garage Representative Must:
1. Submit VSA-39A for validation by a DMV representative prior to transferring license plates.

2. Give the customer the License Holder copy of the permit for carrying in the vehicle when being operated.
NOTE: The VSA 39A is not renewable.
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https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter6/section46.2-719/
https://legsearch.state.va.us/search?q=46.2-720&site=Code_of_Virginia&output=xml_no_dtd&proxystylesheet=LAW_COV&client=LAW_COV&filter=0
https://ps1.dmv.virginia.gov/intranet/forms/pdf/vsa39.pdf
https://ps1.dmv.virginia.gov/intranet/forms/pdf/vsa39a.pdf
https://ps1.dmv.virginia.gov/intranet/forms/pdf/vsa39a.pdf
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<<<<<REVISION
FRONT COUNTER CSR-VEHICLE UNDERGOING REPAIRS BY GARAGE OWNER

1. Verify accurate completion of the VSA-39A.
2. Validate the VSA-39A by signing the appropriate block.

3. Distribute copies of the form:
e |ICENSE HOLDER and GARAGE OWNER copy - To the garage representative

e DMV copy - place in the UPS Bag-Inter-Agency envelope marked DMV Special Registration. (Refer to
CSCOM-1004.) END REVISION>>>>>
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DMV CUSTOMER CONTACT CENTER ACTIONS

<<<<<REVISION

e In the event a garage owner or customer calls with questions regarding use of the Emergency permit to Transfer License
Plates When the Vehicle is Being Repaired by a Dealer (VSA 39), the form is:

o A pre-numbered carbon-set form,

o Used by dealers to temporarily transfer license plates from a customer's vehicle undergoing repairs in a dealer
shop to a dealer-owned vehicle.
e The customer must:
1.  Complete the customer information section of VSA 39 and submit the form to the dealer;

2. Carry the License Holder copy of the permit and the current registration card for his vehicle when operating the
garage-owned vehicle.

3. Return the expired permit and the vehicle to the dealer.
e The dealer must:
1. Review the customer information section of the VSA 39 and complete the remainder of the form.
2. Validate the permit (VSA 39) prior to transferring the plates by signing the form in the appropriate place.
3. Give the customer the License Holder copy of the form and advise him that:

The permit is proof of the authority to transfer the plates,
He MUST carry the License Holder copy of the permit and the current registration card for his vehicle
when operating the dealer-owned or garage-owned vehicle, and
o The permit is only valid for 5 DAYS, and he must return the permit with the vehicle.
4. Temporarily file the Dealer copy of the permit until the customer returns the dealer-owned vehicle and the
expired permit.

5. Obtain the expired License Holder copy of the permit from the customer and attach it to the Dealer copy of the
permit.

e File all expired permits (original and renewal) for 3 years from the date of entry

e The VSA 39 is not required to be validated by a DMV representative. END REVISION>>>>>
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POINTS TO REMEMBER

e Dealers may renew the VSA 39 permit one time for an additional 5 days by completing a second VSA-39 and attaching
the License Holder copy from the original VSA 39 to the second VSA 39. Virginia law requires that only one renewal
permit can be issued to cover any one emergency.

e Permits granted to garage owners are good as long as the vehicle is being repaired, but no longer than 5 days. These
permits CANNOT be renewed.
Return to top of page

CONTACT

For additional information contact :
e  Your CSC Manager/Assistant Manager
e DMV Customer Contact Center Help Desk at (804) 367-6646
e VSA/Titling Work Center

Return to top of page

VLIC-4.125 Page 2 of 2


https://ps1.dmv.virginia.gov/intranet/forms/pdf/vsa39a.pdf
https://ps1.dmv.virginia.gov/intranet/manuals/cscom/cscom1004.pdf
https://ps1.dmv.virginia.gov/intranet/forms/pdf/vsa39.pdf
https://ps1.dmv.virginia.gov/intranet/know_base/workcenters_new.asp#26
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