Vehicle Licensing Guide
Exemption (Harvest) Permit-Issuance of
VLIC-4.230
Original Date: 11/25/2010
Revision Date: 08/28/2014

Customer Requirements
Front Counter CSR

DMV Contact Center Actions
Important Notes

Contact

Procedure Proponent

POLICY

Title: Issuance of Exemption (Harvest) Permit Number:
Effective Date: November 25, 2010 | Revision Date:

Authority: Code of Virginia 88 46.2-668, 58.1-2700, 58.1-2700.1

Policy: DMV will issue temporary permits to out-of-state motor vehicles (trailers and semi-trailers included) that
allow for the exemption of Virginia vehicle registration, when the use of such vehicles has been contracted for by
the owner or lessor of a farm as a part of harvesting crops. Vehicles eligible for obtaining the permit must have

valid license plates and registration in another state. The permit will only be valid while the vehicle is engaged in
transporting farm products (not persons) in compliance with the restrictions found in Virginia Code.

Exception:

CUSTOMER REQUIREMENTS
1. Complete the Harvest Permit Application (MCS 148).

e Have the contractor (land owner or land lessor) complete applicable portions of the application.
2. Submit the completed Harvest Permit application to DMV along with the vehicle’s valid out-of-state registration.
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FRONT COUNTER CSR
1. Verify that the Harvest Permit Application (MCS 148) is complete.

e Ensure that the contractor has certified the form. DO NOT process the application if the contractor
certification is incomplete.

e Ensure that the vehicle information on the registration card matches the vehicle information described in
the Applicant Vehicle Information section of the form.

2. Refer to the vehicle classification section of the application to determine if the vehicle is a gualified highway

vehicle.
a. If the vehicle is qualified, collect the $150 permit fee.
e Postthe fee to the IFTA Tax Report line item found within the Motor Carrier option in CSS
Revenue.
b. If the vehicle is NOT qualified, no permit fee is collected.

3. Complete the online Virginia Harvest Permit (RDT387) in the Employee Forms section on the Intranet:
a. Enter the Permit Number (out-of-state license plate number) and Issue Date.
e The system will automatically populate the Expiration Date field (90 days from issue date).
b. Check the appropriate box in the Permit Fee field.

4. Print the Virginia Harvest Permit.
5. Manually enter CSR name, signature and date.
<<<<<REVISION
6. Scan the completed Harvest Permit Application, Virginia Harvest Permit, and receipt (if applicable) to Motor
Carrier Services and wait for an email response.
e Enter the customer’s phone number in the system (if the customer provides a number) to enable the
work center to contact them directly, if necessary.
e If the scanner is inoperable:
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http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter6/section46.2-668/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title58.1/chapter27/section58.1-2700/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title58.1/chapter27/section58.1-2700.1/
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/pdf/mcs148.pdf
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/pdf/mcs148.pdf
https://ps1.dmv.virginia.gov/intranet/forms/pdf/rdt387.pdf

o Fax the completed Harvest Permit Application, Virginia Harvest Permit, and receipt (if applicable) to
Motor Carrier Services using the Motor Carrier Fax Cover Sheet (MCS 100).
= |tis not necessary to complete the Account Information section of the MCS 100. END
REVISION>>>>>

7. Staple together and issue to the customer the original Harvest Permit Application, Harvest Permit and receipt (if
applicable).

a. Inform the customer that the permit must be attached to the application and displayed in a visible place
in the vehicle at all times.
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DMV DIRECT ACTIONS
e Inform the customer that the Harvest Permit application (MCS 148) is available from the DMV website,
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/, or any DMV Customer Service Center.

e DMV DIRECT AGENT CAUTION: Continue to be diligent in not promising acceptability of documents to
customers

o Do NOT use phrases like:
= “You have everything you need. Just go to a CSC and they will issue your document.”
o Use phrasing such as:

=  “The documents you have listed sound like they may be acceptable. You will need to take the
documents to the CSC and have them verified. The CSC will make the final determination of
your eligibility to receive your desired document.”
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IMPORTANT NOTES
The Harvest Permit shall only be valid while the vehicle is engaged in transporting farm produce from the farm:

e As anincidental part of harvesting operations;

e Along a public highway for a distance of not more than 20 miles to a storage house, packing plant, market,
or transportation terminal;

e When the use is a seasonal operation; and
e When the owner of the vehicle has secured from the Commissioner an exemption permit for each vehicle.

Permits are valid for 90 days from their date of issuance. Customers who need additional time must submit a new
application to obtain additional 90 day permits. Only one permit can be issued per application (permit issue dates can
not be post-dated).

A “Qualified Highway Vehicle” is a vehicle used for transporting persons/property and that:

1. Has 2 axles and a gross vehicle weight or registered gross vehicle weight of more than 26,000 pounds (or
11,797 kilograms), or

2. Has 3 or more axles regardless of weight, or

3. Is used in combination, when the weight of such combination is more than 26,000 pounds (or 11,797
kilograms) gross vehicle or registered gross vehicle weight.

NOTE: Qualified highway vehicles do not include recreational vehicles.
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CONTACT
For additional information contact:

e CSC Manager/Assistant Manager
e DMV Contact Center Help Desk at (804) 367-6646
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PROCEDURE PROPONENT
e  Motor Carrier Services
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http://pscript/intranet/know_base/workcenters_new.asp#36
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/pdf/mcs100.pdf
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/

