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POLICY 
Title: 3-Day Trip Permit 
Effective Date: January 6, 1986 Revision Date: April 10, 2019 
Authority: Code of Virginia § 46.2-651 
Policy:  DMV is authorized to issue a 3-day trip permit to an owner or prospective purchaser of an unregistered 
motor vehicle, trailer, or semi-trailer to operate the vehicle from a point of origin to a point of destination without 
registering it.   

• Vehicles designed as property carrying vehicles, such as vans or trailers, cannot carry property while 
operating under the trip permit.   

• A trip permit can be issued for in-state or out-of-state origins.   
• Customers may purchase a trip permit at a CSC, or via DMV’s online transactions. Trip permits 

purchased online print out on the customer’s home computer.   
• Customers may purchase more than one trip permit if their trip will take longer than 3 days to complete. 

The effective date of each additional 3-day trip permit will run consecutive with the expiration date of the 
previous permit. 

Exception: 
<<<<<REVISION 

• Three-day trip permits are not issued to vehicles that are not subject to registration requirements. Refer to 
the Trip Permit Eligibility table in this procedure.  
END REVISION>>>>> 

Return to top of page 

TYPES OF TRIP PERMITS 
Owner Trip Permit 

• Issued to a customer who owns a vehicle that needs to be moved from one location to another. 
• Permit is not limited to the most direct route between the point of origin and destination. 
• Permit is valid for 3-consecutive days following its purchase. 

o If the trip is not completed within the 3-day period, another 3-day trip permit must be purchased 
(fee applies). 
 

Prospective Purchaser Trip Permit 
• Issued to a Virginia resident who intends to purchase a vehicle, and title/register it in Virginia. 
• Vehicle destination must be Virginia (point of origin may be in-state or out-of-state). 

o Virginia trip permits may or may not be accepted in other states. Customers should contact the 
state in which the vehicle is being driven with questions.   

• Permit is not limited to the most direct route between the point of origin and destination. 
• Permit must be accompanied by the original Bill of Sale (copies and faxes are not acceptable). 
• Permit is valid for 3-consecutive days beginning on the date of the original Bill of Sale. 

o If the vehicle has not been purchased within 15 days after the trip permit is obtained, another trip 
permit must be purchased (fee applies). 

Return to top of page 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter6/section46.2-651/
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CUSTOMER REQUIREMENTS 
Owner Trip Permit 

1. Provide evidence of ownership such as: 
• Valid Title (or valid assigned Title) 
• Registration Card 
• Bill of Sale 
• Other documents showing proof of ownership (e.g. buyers order). 

2. City and state of origin and destination. 
3. Dates of travel. 

<<<<<REVISION 
4. Insurance certification.   END REVISION>>>>> 
5. Pay the permit fee. 

 
Prospective Purchaser Trip Permit 

1. Provide description of vehicle make, year, and VIN (if unknown, provide at least make and year). 
2. City and state of origin and destination. 
3. Dates of travel and/or date of vehicle purchase (if known). 

<<<<<REVISION 
4. Insurance certification.   END REVISION>>>>> 
5. Pay the permit fee. 

Return to top of page 

FRONT COUNTER CSR 
1. Ask the customer what type of trip permit is needed (Owner or Prospective Purchaser). 
2. Review documents presented: 

• Ownership documents to verify that the applicant is the owner of the vehicle. (for Owner Trip Permit 
only) 

• Verify that the vehicle is eligible for a trip permit using the table below. 

Trip Permit Eligibility Table Prospective  
Purchaser Permit 

Vehicle Owner 
Permit 

Vehicles that are subject to registration1 Yes Yes 

Vehicles NOT subject to registration2 No No 

Exceptions/Special Conditions Prospective  
Purchaser Permit 

Vehicle Owner 
Permit 

Rebuilt salvage vehicles 
For travel to and from official Virginia safety inspection station 
only 

Yes Yes 

Vehicle branded with a nonrepairable equivalent 
brand in other state that is issued a Virginia 
nonnegotiable title (branded “Junk Nonnegotiable 
Rebuilt”) 

No3 Yes 

<<<<<REVISION  
Vehicle with a vehicle stop on record Yes No 

Vehicle whose owner has a customer stop on record Yes No END 
REVISION>>>>> 

 1 Vehicles being issued trip permits MUST BE subject to registration, whether currently registered,   
   expired, not registered, or not yet registered in prospective purchaser’s name. 
 2  Vehicles that are NOT subject to registration are NOT ELIGIBLE for trip permits, including but not limited to:  

• Junk vehicles • Oversized or overweight vehicles 
• Off-road vehicles • Nonrepairable vehicles 

 3  Vehicles issued a Virginia nonnegotiable title, branded as “Junk Nonnegotiable Rebuilt” can be registered for 
use by the owner, but cannot be resold; therefore Prospective Purchaser’s Trip Permit would not apply. 

 

3. Key information provided by the customer into the system according to data entry procedures. 
<<<<<REVISION 
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4. Collect the trip permit fee.   END REVISION>>>>> 
5. Retrieve trip permit from the printer. 

• CSR completes Authorized Signature/Date section. 
6. Give the permit to the customer and have him place his signature on it. 

• For OWNER, advise the customer that the permit: 
a. Is valid for a SINGLE 3-DAY trip, 
b. Must be displayed in the left rear window of the vehicle (or in a conspicuous place on the left 

side of the vehicle, if there is no rear window). 
• For PROSPECTIVE PURCHASER, advise the customer that. 

a. The permit is valid for 3 DAYS starting on the date of the original Bill of Sale. 
b. The permit must be signed and dated by the seller. 
c. The Bill of Sale must be attached. 
d. The permit must be displayed in the left rear window of the vehicle or in a conspicuous place 

on the left side of the vehicle, if there is no rear window at all times during the trip until properly 
registered with DMV. 

e. If the vehicle is not purchased WITHIN 15 DAYS after obtaining the permit, another trip permit 
must be purchased. 

IMPORTANT: Advise customers that Virginia trip permits may or may not be accepted in other states. 
Customers should contact the state in which the vehicle is being picked up with questions.  

Return to top of page 

DMV DIRECT AGENT ACTIONS 
• Vehicles operating as property carrying vehicles must be un-laden to operate under this permit. 
• This permit does not apply to vehicles covered under Motor Carrier rules and regulations, and may not be 

recognized in other jurisdictions. 
• Customers requesting information about trip permits for vehicles that are covered under Motor Carrier rules 

and regulations should be referred to the Motor Carrier number (804) 249-5130. 

Return to top of page 

POINTS TO REMEMBER 
• If the vehicle is designed to carry property, such as a van, property cannot be carried while it is being 

operated using the permit. 
• Vehicles not subject to registration are NOT ELIGIBLE for trip permits, including, but not limited to: 

 Junk vehicles, 
 Off-road vehicles, 
 Nonrepairable vehicles, 
 Oversized or overweight vehicles.    

NOTE: Vehicles branded in other states with nonrepairable equivalent brands issued nonnegotiable 
titles and registrations are eligible for trip permits.  

<<<<<REVISION 
• Any vehicle that is oversize in any dimension and is not subject to registration CANNOT be issued a 3-day 

trip permit.  The owner must apply for a hauling permit. Customer with questions may call Hauling Permits or 
obtain a hauling permit by applying online, in person at DMV Headquarters, or through the mail to: 

Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles 
Hauling Permits 
Post Office Box 26302 
Richmond, VA 23260   END REVISION>>>>> 

Return to top of page 

CONTACT 
For additional information contact: 

• Your CSC Manager/Assistant Manager 
• DMV Contact Center Help Desk at (804) 367-6646 
• VSA/Special Registration Work Center 

https://ps1.dmv.virginia.gov/intranet/know_base/workcenters_new.asp#42
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/apps/vahps/vahps_home.aspx
https://ps1.dmv.virginia.gov/intranet/know_base/workcenters_new.asp#24
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