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License Plates-Additional Fees 
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Additional Fees Collected With Registration 
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POLICY 
Title: License Plates-Additional Fees  

Effective Date: July 1, 1994  Revision Date:  
Authority: Code of Virginia §§ 46.2-694, 46.2-694.1, 46.2-706, 46.2-756, 46.2-1168, 46.2-1182.1, 46.2-1191, and 58.1-
2249, et al. 
Policy:   
In addition to required registration fees, DMV collects revenue for programs administered by other agencies for purposes 
other than highway construction and maintenance. 

Exception:  N/A 
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ADDITIONAL FEES COLLECTED WITH REGISTRATION 

DESCRIPTION OF YEARLY VEHICLE FEES FEES 
Local Vehicle Registration (LVR) Program - Virginia Beach (refer to VLIC-4.415)  

• Applies to registered motor vehicles, trailers and semi-trailers garaged in Virginia Beach  

• This fee may be pro-rated if the vehicle registration is pro-rated.  
o The LVR fee is based on when the move occurred and may not be prorated for the same 

number of months as the state vehicle registration fee  

• Customers may change a vehicle's garage jurisdiction without changing their residence address.  

• If a customer has moved to a non-participating jurisdiction, the address must be updated in 
accordance with DLG-0601 before processing the registration to ensure LVR fees are not charged  

Varies by 
locality  

Virginia motor vehicle safety inspection program  
• Applies to all registered motor vehicles, autocycles, motorcycles, trailers and semi-trailers  

• This fee is included in the registration fee on pre-printed registration renewal forms  

• Charge this as an additional fee only when new license plates are issued on quarterly registrations  

• This fee is not prorated and does NOT APPLY if the customer is receiving a:  
o Prorated vehicle registration (collected for 12-month or 24-month registrations only)  
o No fee registration (such as state vehicles, disabled veterans (DV), etc.)  

$1.50 

Special fund for emergency medical services (EMS) purposes  
• Applies to registered pick-up trucks, panel trucks, passenger carrying vehicles, autocycles, and 

motorcycles  

• This fee is not prorated and does NOT APPLY if the customer is receiving a:  
o Pro-rated vehicle registration (collected for 12-month or 24-month registrations only)  
o No fee registration (such as state vehicles, disabled veterans (DV), etc.)  
o Antique/vintage registration  

$6.25  

Financing activities of the Virginia Rider Training Program  
• Applies to motorcycle license plates ONLY  

• This fee is included in the registration fee on the pre-printed registration renewal forms  

• This fee is not prorated and does NOT APPLY if the customer is receiving a:  
o Pro-rated vehicle registration (collected for 12-month or 24-month registrations only)  

$3.00 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter6/section46.2-694/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter6/section46.2-694.1/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter6/section46.2-706/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter6/section46.2-756/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter10/section46.2-1168/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter10/section46.2-1182.1/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter10/section46.2-1191/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title58.1/chapter22/section58.1-2249/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title58.1/chapter22/section58.1-2249/
https://ps1.dmv.virginia.gov/intranet/manuals/vlic/vlic4415.pdf
https://ps1.dmv.virginia.gov/intranet/manuals/dlg/dlg0601.pdf
http://www.dmvnow.com/drivers/#m_course.asp
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DESCRIPTION OF YEARLY VEHICLE FEES FEES 

o No fee registration (such as state vehicles, disabled veterans (DV), etc.)  

Emission Inspection Fee (refer to VLIC-4.410) 

• Applies to motor vehicle (with a gross weight of 10,000 pounds or less) registered in any of the 
following: 

o Counties of Arlington, Fairfax, Loudon, Prince William or Stafford 

o Cities of Alexandria, Fairfax, Falls Church, Manassas, or Manassas Park 

 Pro-rated vehicle registration (collected for 12-month or 24-month registrations 
only) 

 The Emissions Inspection fee is NOT charged when issuing a one-month 
prorated registration extension to allow customers time to satisfy 
emissions inspection requirements (refer to VLIC-4.110) 

 No fee registration (such as state vehicles, disabled veterans (DV), etc.) 

 Registration for motorcycle or autocycle   

$2.00 

Highway Use Fee (HUF) 
• Applies to all motor vehicles with a gross weight under 10,000 pounds and has a manufacturer’s 

provided Miles Per Gallon (mpg) rating of 25 or more  
• Applies to all motor vehicles that are solely powered by an electric motor  
• HUF is refundable as part of the registration surrender process in 6 month increments  
• HUF is included in the registration fee on the pre-printed renewal notices  
• HUF is pro-rated if the vehicle registration is pro-rated  
• HUF is not pro-rated for a registration transfer. HUF for the new vehicle is recalculated at the time of 

the subsequent renewal 
• Low-speed vehicles pay a flat rate HUF of $25. 
• EXEMPT vehicles include:  

o Autocycles, mopeds, or motorcycles  
o Vehicles with a gross weight over 10,000 pounds  
o Vehicles owned by government entities, or  
o Vehicles registered under IRP  

• Voluntary Option in Lieu of paying the full HUF – Virginia’s Mileage Choice Program  
o A customer who is assessed HUF may choose to participate in Virginia’s Mileage Choice 

Program as a voluntary option to pay their highway use fee on a per-mile basis in lieu of an 
annual highway use fee at the time of registration renewal. Only paying for the miles driven, 
so if they drive less than 11,600 miles annually, they pay less. And, if they end up driving a 
little more, they will never pay more than the annual highway use fee. (Refer to DMV312)  

o Low-speed vehicles are not eligible for the Mileage Choice Program. 
• Disputing the amount of HUF assessed: 

o Customers requesting to dispute the amount of the HUF assessed may only submit a 
request for a record review on the DMV website. 

o Customers with further questions may contact the DMV Contact Center. 
<<<<<REVISION 

Included in 
Registration 
fee 

END REVISION>>>>> 
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RELATED LINKS 
• Mileage Choice Program 
• DMV312 

Return to top of page 

CONTACT 
For additional information contact: 

• Your CSC Manager/Assistant Manager 
• DMV Contact Center Help Desk at (804) 367-6646 
• VSA/Titling Work Center 

https://ps1.dmv.virginia.gov/intranet/manuals/vlic/vlic4410.pdf
https://ps1.dmv.virginia.gov/intranet/manuals/vlic/vlic4110.pdf
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/pdf/dmv312.pdf
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/#/
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/general/#va_mileage_choice.asp
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/pdf/dmv312.pdf
https://ps1.dmv.virginia.gov/intranet/know_base/workcenters_new.asp#26
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