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Vehicle Licensing Guide 
Sales and Use Tax on Low Sale Price Vehicles 

(Casual Sale) 
VLIC-4.625 

Original Date: 03/10/1986 
Revision Date: 06/25/2022 
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Front Counter CSR 
Contact 
 
POLICY 
Title: Sales and Use Tax on Low Sale Price Vehicles (Casual Sale) 
Effective Date: March 10, 1986 Revision Date: October 25, 2018 
Authority: Code of Virginia: §§ 58.1-2404, 58.1-2405 
Policy: 
<<<<<REVISION 
Vehicles purchased through a casual sale between private individuals are subject to sales and use tax (SUT) at 
the time of titling.  The SUT is based on the stated vehicle sale price compared to the National Automobile 
Dealers Association (NADA) Official Used Car Guide trade-in value. If DMV’s system determines the stated 
vehicle sale price is: END REVISION>>>>> 

• No more than $1,500 below the NADA trade-in value, SUT is assessed on the stated sale price. 
• More than $1,500 below the NADA trade-in value, SUT is assessed on the NADA trade-in value. For 

classic or other vehicles for which no NADA trade-in value is returned by the system or found online, 
determine and use the NADA average retail value following guidelines in this procedure.  END 
REVISION>>>>> 

o If the purchaser submits acceptable proof that a lower sale price was paid, SUT may be 
assessed on the lower sale price rather than the NADA trade-in value. 

This policy DOES NOT apply to vehicles purchased from motor vehicle dealers. 
Exception: 
• No SUT is levied or collected on vehicles purchased through a casual sale when: 

o The vehicle is not required to be titled in Virginia. 
o The vehicle qualifies for an SUT exemption. 
o Proof is submitted that SUT was paid to another jurisdiction within the year. 
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DEFINITIONS 
Casual Sale - A casual sale is when an individual seller sells a vehicle to another individual (not a motor vehicle 
dealer). Vehicles purchased through a casual sale between private individuals require a source of ownership 
document be provided. 
NADA Trade-in Value - Trend values representing the typical price for a vehicle at trade-in. Use the trade-in 
value provided by the NADA Valuation Guide when possible.  Otherwise, use the online NADA website to 
determine the average trade-in value for most vehicles. Use the average retail value when no NADA trade-in 
value is found for classic or other vehicles using the online NADA website. 
NADA Valuation Guide - Software used by DMV’s system to compare the stated sale price for vehicles 
purchased in a casual sale, to the average pre-owned vehicle trade-in value. The system valuation guide includes 
passenger vehicles, pickups and panel trucks, which are 21 model years old or newer. Also included are 9 model 
years of commercial trucks and motorcycles. Trailers and manufactured homes are not included as part of the 
NADA system valuation guide. The system guide does not include pricing for current model year vehicles until 
November of the current year. 
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http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title58.1/chapter24/section58.1-2404/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title58.1/chapter24/section58.1-2405/
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CUSTOMER REQUIREMENTS 
1. Submit a completed Application for Certificate of Title and Registration (VSA-17A), assigned certificate of title, 

or other source of ownership documents. 

2. Submit appropriate certification of sale price paid  when the declared sale price for the vehicle is more than 
$1,500 below the NADA trade-in value or: 

• For vehicles 5 YEARS OLD OR LESS - a completed, notarized Affidavit of Vehicle Purchase Price 
(SUT-1A) 

• For vehicles MORE THAN 5 YEARS OLD - a completed Vehicle Price Certification-(SUT 1) or other 
preformatted or handwritten proof of sale containing the information required on a Bill of Sale. 
<<<<<REVISION 
NOTE: The proof of sale price does not need to be original. A photocopy is acceptable.   END 
REVISION>>>>> 

3. Submit other required documents/forms for titling a motor vehicle (refer to VLIC-3.000). 
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FRONT COUNTER CSR 
1. Review and verify completion of the VSA-17A, assigned certificate of title, or other source of ownership 

documents required for titling a motor vehicle (refer to VLIC-3.000), 
2. Process the transaction in the system. 

a. If the system stops the title from processing because the vehicle sale price is more than $1,500 below 
the NADA Valuation Guide’s trade-in value, follow the steps below: 

Certification of Vehicle Value Requirements 
If Vehicle is 5 Years Old or Less If Vehicle is More Than 5 Years Old 
i. Request a notarized SUT-1A to 

certify the low sale price 
ii. Review the SUT-1A to ensure it 

is notarized and the certified sale 
price matches the price entered 
on the title or other ownership 
document 

iii. Key the system override to allow 
SUT to be assessed on the 
stated sale price 

iv. Collect SUT 

i. Determine if the seller or someone other than the seller wrote the sale 
price on the title1. 

ii. If seller wrote the 
sale price on the 
title1, key the 
system override to 
allow SUT to be 
assessed on seller 
stated sale price 

iii. Collect SUT 

 
 
 
    

OR 
 

ii. If someone other than the seller wrote the 
sale price on the title, request applicant to 
obtain a SUT-1 or bill of sale to certify 
sale price. 

iii. Review SUT-1 or bill of sale to ensure 
certified sale price matches the price 
entered on the title or other ownership 
document 

iv. Key the system override to allow SUT to 
be assessed on seller stated sale price 

v. Collect SUT 
For any of the situations above, if the applicant does not have the required proof of sale price, or is unable to obtain it, he may choose to pay 
the SUT calculated by the system on the NADA Valuation Guide’s trade-in value and be issued a title (refer to step b., below). 

1   Verify that the written sale price appears to be consistent with seller printed name, signature, and other seller information fields on the title (i.e., same 
ink, same handwriting, etc.) indicating it was written by the seller. 

 
b. If the applicant chooses to pay SUT on the full NADA Valuation Guide’s trade-in value, follow the 

steps below regardless of the age of the vehicle: 
i. Mark one line through the declared sale price on the VSA-17A, Virginia or out-of-state title, or 

other submitted ownership document that displays the declared sale price, 
ii. Write the NADA Valuation Guide’s trade-in value above the stated sale price for the vehicle. 

See below: 
EXAMPLE: 
$4,500     (NADA Valuation Guide’s trade-in value) 
$2,000     (Original declared sale price) 

https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/pdf/vsa17a.pdf
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/pdf/sut1a.pdf
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/pdf/sut1.pdf
https://dmvintra.dmv.virginia.gov/intranet/know_base/vehicle/dealer_invoice.shtml
https://ps1.dmv.virginia.gov/intranet/manuals/vlic/vlic3000.pdf
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/pdf/vsa17a.pdf
https://ps1.dmv.virginia.gov/intranet/manuals/vlic/vlic3000.pdf
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iii. KEY THE NADA VALUATION GUIDE’S TRADE-IN SALE PRICE OVER THE ORIGINAL 
ENTRY IN THE SYSTEM to match the NADA Valuation Guide’s trade-in value written on the 
application and ownership documents, 

o Advise the customer he may qualify for a refund of the difference between SUT paid on 
NADA Valuation Guide’s trade-in value and the lower sale price. Customer must submit 
to DMV a completed Application for Refund of Sales and Use Tax" (SUT-2) along with 
acceptable proof documents to support the lower sales price within 3 years of the date 
of payment. 

c. For vehicles which the system’s NADA Valuation Guide is unable to determine a trade-in value, follow 
appropriate steps below: 

No Trade-In Value Returned by DMV System’s NADA Valuation Guide 

These guidelines DO NOT Apply to Vehicles Purchased from Motor Vehicle Dealers 

For the Following: Process as indicated below: 
Older Vehicle 

22 Model Years or Older 
• Sales price written by seller 

on title 

1. Accept sales price and process transaction using sales price written on the title. 
by seller1, provided there is no suspicion of questionable or fraudulent activity. 

2. Complete the titling transaction in accordance with VLIC-3.000. 

Newer Vehicle 
• Regardless if sales price is 

written on title or not. 

1. Look up the NADA trade-in (or average retail2) value using the online NADA 
website following Internet NADA Guide, 

2. If sales price stated by the customer is more than $1,500 below the NADA trade-in 
value (or average retail value2) for a vehicle of the same make, model, and year, 
applicant must: 
 Certify the low sale price following guidelines in the Certification of Vehicle 

Value Requirements table in this procedure to allow the transaction to 
process, 
OR 

 Choose to pay SUT based on the determined NADA trade in value (or 
average retail value2) following step 2.b. under Front Counter CSR in this 
procedure to allow the transaction to process. 

3. Complete titling transaction in accordance with VLIC-3.000. 

Older Vehicle 
22 Model Years or Older 
• No sales price on title, or 
• Sales price written by other 

than seller1 
1 Older vehicles with no sales price written on the title, or with sales price written on title by someone other than the seller, CSR must 

determine NADA trade-in value (or NADA average retail value when NADA trade-in not available) to check for low sales price. 
2  Use the NADA average retail in place of the NADA trade-in value ONLY when no NADA trade-in value can be found for classic or 

other vehicles using the online NADA website. 
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CONTACT 
For additional information contact: 

• Your CSC Manager/Assistant Manager 
• DMV Customer Contact Center Help Desk at (804) 367-6646 
• VSA/Titling Work Center 

https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/pdf/sut2.pdf
https://ps1.dmv.virginia.gov/intranet/manuals/vlic/vlic3000.pdf
https://dmvintra.dmv.virginia.gov/intranet/manuals/vlic/pdf/nada_guide.pdf
http://mydmv/intranet/manuals/vlic/vlic3000.pdf
http://pscript/intranet/know_base/workcenters_new.asp#26
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