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POLICY 
Title: Refunds- Vehicle Products/fees 
Effective Date: 11/01/1988 Revision Date: N/A 
Authority: Code of Virginia § 46.2-688, DMV Policy 
Policy: DMV will issue refunds for vehicle products or fees if the customer overpaid, was overcharged, charged in error, or 
did not use the product. 
The customer is required to: 

• provide proof that a refund is due. 
• return the product (if applicable). 
• provide a Social Security Number (SSN) or Employer Identification Number (EIN). 

DMV will NOT issue refunds: 
• for amounts less than $5.00 unless the customer submits a written request by mail to DMV headquarters. 
• if there is a Returned Check or Administrative stop on the customer record. 

Exception: N/A 
 
IRP REGISTRATION REFUND (Apportioned License Plates) 
IRP refunds are processed by Motor Carrier Services (MCS), not CSC staff. 
Customer Requirements: 

1. Submit completed “Virginia International Registration Plan (IRP) Application” (IRP 1). 
• Application must include reason for the registration surrender. 

2. Return plates and/or decals and cab card or check plate certification following guidelines on the IRP1. 

Return to top of page 

NON-IRP REGISTRATION REFUND (License Plates/Decals) 
• DMV issues either full or partial registration refunds. 
• To qualify for a refund of all fees (minus a $5 processing fee), the refund request must be made prior to the beginning of 

the registration period. 
o A $5 processing fee is not deducted from the customer’s refund when refunded for the following reasons: 

 DMV administrative error (these may issued prior to the beginning of the registration period, or during 
depending on when the error is discovered), 

 Issuance of duplicate plates/decals, provided the duplicate plates/decals are returned unused in their 
original condition. 

• Partial refunds are issued for refunds requested after the registration period begins, provided 6 months or more remain in 
the registration period. The system calculates partial refunds in 6-month time periods. This means there has to be at least 
6-months of unused time remaining in the registration period to qualify for a refund and refunds are issued for each 
remaining 6-month period left in the registration. For instance (see Partial Refunds Examples table below). 
 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter6/section46.2-688/
https://ps1.dmv.virginia.gov/intranet/forms/pdf/irp1frp.pdf
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NON-IRP REGISTRATION REFUND (License Plates/Decals) (continued) 

Partial Refunds  
Refundable Portion After Registration Begins 

Months Remaining 
in Registration 

After start  
date but less  
than 6 mo. 

6 mo. or more  
 but less than 12  

12 mo. or more  
but less than 18  

18 mo. or more 
but less than 24 

24 mo. or more  
but less than 30 

30 mo. or more  
but less than 36 

Fees Refunded by 
System 

No refund 
(Must have 6 or  
more months) 

6 months  
prorated fees 

12 months 
prorated fees 

18 months 
prorated fees 

24 months 
prorated fees 

30 months 
prorated fees 

• For one-year registrations, refunds requested after the registration period begins must have 6 months or more of unused 
time remaining in the registration period to qualify for a partial refund. The most a customer will receive for a one-year 
registration is a refund of fees prorated over 6 months, regardless if there are more than 6 months of unused time 
remaining to expiration. If less than 6-months remain, no refund is due. 

• For multiple-year registrations, refunds requested after the registration period begins will equal what the customer paid for 
each 6-month period remaining in the multi-year registration. For a three year registration, with 19 months remaining at 
time of refund, the system calculates a refund of fees equivalent to18 months, or 3 periods of 6-month each.  

• One-time special plate fees paid at time of registration are prorated and refunded only when 6 or more months remain in 
the first year of registration. For multi-year registrations, no portion of the one-time special plate fee is refunded for the 2nd 
or 3rd year of the original registration. 

• Discounts given for multi-year and online registration renewals no longer apply once a refund is requested. The discount 
given at time of registration is subtracted from the refund. 

• Partial refunds are issued for the Highway Use Fee (HUF) when a registration refund is requested after the registration 
period begins, provided 6 months or more remain in the registration period. The system calculates partial refunds in 6-
month time periods. (Refer to the Partial Refunds Examples Table listed above). To qualify for a full refund of HUF, the 
refund request must be made prior to the beginning of the registration period. (Refer to DMV312 or Mileage Choice 
Program) 

• Permanent license plate fees are not refundable unless the plates were issued in error by DMV. 
• Local Vehicle Registration (LVR) fees are pro-rated and refunded the same as other registration fees (refer to VLIC-

4.415).  

Customer Requirements 
1. Submit completed “Vehicle Registration Refund Application” (FMS 210).  
2. Submit proof a refund is due. 
3. Return plates, decal and/or registration card. 

• For a full registration refund, unused plates and decals MUST be returned. 
4. Provide SSN or EIN. 

Return to top of page 

PERMIT REFUND (Overload Permit/Trip Permit) 
Overload permits and trip permits are non-refundable unless issued in error by DMV. 

Customer Requirements 
1. Submit proof of DMV error. 
2. Return unused permit. 
3. Provide SSN or EIN. 

Return to top of page 

SALES AND USE TAX (SUT) REFUND 

Types of SUT Refunds 
SUT was paid to DMV in error SUT was already paid to another state 
SUT was paid for the purchase of a used vehicle and subsequently 
returned to the seller1 

SUT was paid by Disabled Veteran (or the spouse of a veteran) who 
qualifies for SUT exemption.    

1 Vehicles that qualify for Virginia’s lemon law do not qualify for this refund. Refer to Lemon Law Vehicles (VLIC-3.340). 

• SUT refunds are not processed by CSCs.  These refunds are processed only by the Titling Work Center.  The customer or 
CSC must mail the refund request/documentation to:  

Virginia DMV 

https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/pdf/dmv312.pdf
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/general/#va_mileage_choice.asp
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/general/#va_mileage_choice.asp
https://ps1.dmv.virginia.gov/intranet/manuals/vlic/vlic4415.pdf
https://ps1.dmv.virginia.gov/intranet/manuals/vlic/vlic4415.pdf
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/pdf/FMS210.pdf
https://ps1.dmv.virginia.gov/intranet/manuals/vlic/vlic3340.pdf
http://pscript/intranet/know_base/workcenters_new.asp#26
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Attn: Titling Work Center  
P.O. Box 27412 
Richmond, VA 23269-0001 

• Dealers, purchasers, or their authorized agent may apply for this SUT refund.  

Customer Requirements: 

Refund of SUT Paid in Error, Paid by Veteran/Veteran’s spouse, or When Already Paid to Another State 
1. Submit “Application for Refund of Sales and Use Tax” (SUT 2), 
2. Submit original Virginia Certificate of Title.   

•  If there is an outstanding lien on the vehicle record, the customer must obtain a temporary release to allow for 
the title to print.  

•  If the vehicle record contains an electronic lien, and a title has not been printed, no title is required. 
3. Submit supporting documentation for the refund reason indicated on the SUT 2 (See acceptable documents on SUT 

2).  

Refund of SUT Paid for Vehicle Returned to the Seller 
1. Submit the completed and notarized “Application and Affidavit for Refund of Sales and Use Tax” (SUT 2A). 

• Applicant can submit their own notarized affidavit, but must still complete the SUT 2A. Customers submitting 
their own affidavit are not required to check the boxes on the SUT 2A form or have it notarized. 

2. Submit other supporting documentation showing the vehicle was returned to the seller. 

Return to top of page 

TITLE REFUND 
If there is an outstanding lien on the vehicle title, the title fee cannot be refunded unless the transaction is voided and the 
original title is returned to DMV. 
Customer Requirements 

1. Return original Virginia Certificate of Title. 
• If there is an electronic lien on the vehicle title and a title has not been printed, the customer is not required to 

submit the vehicle title. 
2. Provide proof a refund is due. 
3. Provide SSN or EIN. 

Return to top of page 

UNINSURED MOTOR VEHICLE (UMV) REFUND 
<<<<<REVISION 
IMPORTANT: Noncompliance fees paid for uninsured motor vehicles (UMV) (i.e. customer is convicted of operating an 
uninsured motor vehicle by the courts) are not refunded by CSCs.  These are refunded only by the Insurance Services Work 
Center. 
END REVISION>>>>> 

Return to top of page 

VIN PLATE REFUND 
VIN Plates are only refunded if the VIN plate has not been used and the customer surrenders it. 

1. Return unused VIN plate. 
2. Provide proof a refund is due. 
3. Provide SSN or EIN. 

Return to top of page 

FRONT COUNTER CSR 
1. Inquire on the customer’s record to verify his SSN or EIN. 

IMPORTANT: Customers without a SSN or EIN are not eligible to receive refunds from DMV.  
2. Verify the customer’s address, and correct or change in accordance with DLG-0601 (if required).  
3. Use the table below to verify the customer has submitted required plates/decals/documents and identify CSR processing 

instructions.  

Refund Type Customer Submits  CSR Steps  

https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/pdf/sut2.pdf
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/pdf/sut2.pdf
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/pdf/sut2.pdf
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/pdf/sut2.pdf
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/pdf/sut2a.pdf
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/pdf/sut2a.pdf
https://ps1.dmv.virginia.gov/intranet/know_base/workcenters_new.asp#15
https://ps1.dmv.virginia.gov/intranet/know_base/workcenters_new.asp#15
https://dmvintra.dmv.virginia.gov/intranet/manuals/dlg/dlg0601.pdf
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Refund Type Customer Submits  CSR Steps  

IRP 
Registration 

Refund 

• “Virginia International 
Registration Plan (IRP) 
Application” (IRP 1)  

• Proof of refund due 
• License plates  
• Decals/CAB Card 

i. Collect the customer’s plates and surrender at the CSC.  
ii. Scan the completed IRP 1 to Motor Carrier Services/IRP.  

•  If the scanner is inoperable, fax the completed IRP 1 and plate surrender receipt to 
Motor Carrier Services/IRP. 

iii. Advise the customer that they should receive the refund within 6-8 weeks.  

Non-IRP 
Registration 

Refund 
 

• “Application for Refund of 
Vehicle Registration” (FMS-
210) 

• Proof of refund due  
• License plates and/or 
• Decals and/or 
• Registration card 

Full Refund  
i. Collect the customer’s plate(s) and/or 

decals.  
ii. Verify that the registration period has 

not yet begun.  
iii. Process the plate surrender and 

refund in the system. (Refer to Non-
IRP Registration Refund.)  

 Partial Refund  
i. Collect the customer’s plates and/or decals. 
ii. Verify at least 6 months remain in the 

registration period. 
iii. Process the plate surrender and issue the 

refund in the system. 
 

Permit Refund 
(Overload/Trip 

Permits) 

• Unused permit 
• Proof of refund due 

 

i. Collect the permit from the customer. 
ii. Verify the customer is eligible to receive a refund for the permit. 

• Refunds are only issued if the permit has been issued in error by DMV. 
iii. Continue processing the refund.  

  SUT Refund- 
SUT paid in error, 

paid by 
veteran/veteran’s 

spouse, or 
 Paid to another state    

• “Application for Refund of 
Sales and Use Tax” 
 (SUT 2) 

• Original Virginia Certificate of 
Title 

• Proof of sales tax paid as 
required (Refer to SUT 2)  

i. Collect the SUT 2 presented by the customer.  
ii. Review the customer’s documents ensuring they have submitted adequate documentation 

to request a refund of SUT paid. (Refer to SUT 2.)  
iii. Verify the customer has submitted the original vehicle title. 

• If the vehicle record has an outstanding lien, advise the customer they must contact 
the lienholder to request a temporary release of lien. 

• If there is an electronic lien on the vehicle record the title is not required.  
iv. Advise the customer to allow 7 to 9 weeks to receive the refund check.  
v. SUT refunds are not processed by CSCs. 

Mail the SUT 2, the customer’s title and all supporting documentation to: 
Virginia DMV 
Attn: Titling Work Center  
P.O. Box 27412 
Richmond, VA 23269-0001 

SUT Refund- 
Used vehicle 

returned to seller  

• Notarized “Application and 
Affidavit for Refund of Sales 
and Use Tax” (SUT 2A)  

• Other supporting documentation   

i. Collect the SUT 2A presented by the customer. 
• Verify that it is notarized,  

OR 
• If applicant submits their own notarized affidavit, attach it to the completed SUT 2A. 

The SUT 2A is not required to be notarized or checkboxes checked when 
submitting their own affidavit.  

ii. Review the customer’s notarized SUT 2A or customer’s own notarized affidavit to ensure 
the customer has certified that all of the conditions for the refund have been met: 

• Vehicle was returned within 45 days of purchase due to a mechanical defect or 
failure not subject to the Virginia Motor Vehicle Warranty Enforcement Act 
(VMVWEA) (lemon law).  

• The purchase price was refunded. 
• The title was assigned to the seller accepting return of the vehicle. 
• The purchaser no longer has possession of the vehicle.  

NOTE: These refunds CANNOT be credited towards the purchase of another vehicle, but 
must be refunded. 

iii. Advise the customer to allow 7 to 9 weeks to receive the refund check. 
• Applicants have up to 3 years from the date the vehicle is titled back to the seller to 

apply for a refund of SUT. 
iv. These SUT refunds are not processed by the CSCs. 

Mail the submitted SUT 2A and other supporting documentation to: 
Virginia DMV 
Attn: Titling Work Center  

https://ps1.dmv.virginia.gov/intranet/forms/pdf/irp1frp.pdf
https://ps1.dmv.virginia.gov/intranet/know_base/workcenters_new.asp#36
https://ps1.dmv.virginia.gov/intranet/know_base/workcenters_new.asp#36
http://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/pdf/fms210.pdf
http://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/pdf/fms210.pdf
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/pdf/sut2.pdf
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/pdf/sut2.pdf
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/pdf/sut2.pdf
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/pdf/sut2a.pdf
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/pdf/sut2a.pdf
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/pdf/sut2a.pdf
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/pdf/sut2a.pdf
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/pdf/sut2a.pdf
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Refund Type Customer Submits  CSR Steps  
P.O. Box 27412 
Richmond, VA 23269-0001    

Title Refund 

• Original VA Certificate of Title 
• Proof of refund due 
• Lien release  

(if applicable, refer to Title Refund.)  

i. If there is a prior title record, ensure the prior title information is maintained to reflect the 
prior title issue date and issue type.  

ii. Void the title document from CSC inventory in accordance with CSCOM-301 (if applicable).  
iii. Continue processing the refund.  

VIN Plate  • VIN Plate  
i. Collect the VIN plate and place it with daily title work.   
ii. Continue processing the refund.  

4. Process a refund in the system (if applicable for the refund type) and advise the customer they should receive the refund 
within 4-6 weeks.  
NOTE: If the customer requests the refund be credited to a credit card do not process the refund in the system. Contact 
FMAS for further instructions at 804-367-1884.    

Return to top of page 

CSC MANAGEMENT/DESIGNEE 
CSC management or designee will receive email notification from the system of refund authorizations that require processing. 
Within 5 days of receiving the email notification, CSC management or designee must: 
1. Review received refund authorization requests. 

• CSC management/designee cannot authorize refunds they have initiated. 
2. Determine if the refund request is valid by:  

• Reviewing documentation submitted by the requester of the refund (if applicable)  
• Verifying inventory or product being refunded has been submitted and meets requirements (if applicable)  
• The refund amount is correct 

3. Authorize the refund in the system if the refund request is valid. 
• If the refund is NOT valid, place a note on the customer’s record indicating refund being requested and why it was not 

authorized.  
• If the customer has requested the refund to be credited back to a credit card, refer to the section below. 

Credit Card Refunds 
If the customer requests the refund be credited to a credit card do not process the refund in the system. Contact FMS for 
further instructions at 804-367-1884. 

Return to top of page 

POINTS TO REMEMBER 
• Refunds are not issued in amounts less than $5.00 without a mailed, written request from customers. 
• Customers with returned check or administrative stops on record are NOT eligible to receive refunds. 
• Refunds of Sales and Use Tax (SUT) are not processed in the CSCs, but mailed to Titling Work Center at HQ. 
• Refunds of standard registration fees are calculated based on the number of 6 month periods remaining in the current 

registration period (refer to NON-IRP REFUNDS above). 

Return to top of page 

https://dmvintra.dmv.virginia.gov/intranet/manuals/cscom/cscom0301.pdf
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DMV CUSTOMER CONTACT CENTER ACTIONS 
• Customer inquiries for refund status should be answered using the online refund tracking system. 
• To determine the month in which a customer must apply for a refund to still be eligible for the refund refer to the table 

below: 

Surrender Month Eligibility Guidelines for Partial Refund  
Month In Which Customer Must Request Refund to Qualify 

If Plates 
Expire In: 

January February March April May June July August  September October November December 

Request 
must be  
made by: 

July  August September October November December January  February March April May June 

• Advise customers that refunds take about 30 DAYS to receive. 
• For refunds taking longer than 30 days: 

a. Log into Oracle Financials to check on the status of the refund. 
o Inquire using the customer’s name or social security number/Tax ID.  

b. Provide the customer with: 
o The date the check was issued, and  
o The address the check was mailed to, or 
o Information on debt offset, if applicable.  

c. If additional research is needed, or to have a refund check reissued, please send a Landing Zone request to the 
Refund Processing Work Center, location code 181. Include the customer’s: 

o Name or social security number/Tax ID,  
o Phone number, and  
o Refund check number (if known). 

Return to top of page 

CONTACT 
For additional information contact: 

• Your CSC Manager/Assistant Manager 
• DMV Customer Contact Center Help Desk at (804) 367-6646 
• Financial Management & Administrative Services (FMAS) 
• Insurance Services Work Center 
• Motor Carrier/IRP 
• Titling Work Center 

https://dmvintra.dmv.virginia.gov/intranet/administrations/fmsindex.shtml
https://ps1.dmv.virginia.gov/intranet/know_base/workcenters_new.asp#15
https://ps1.dmv.virginia.gov/intranet/know_base/workcenters_new.asp#36
https://ps1.dmv.virginia.gov/intranet/know_base/workcenters_new.asp#26
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