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POLICY 
Title: Independent Dealer-Operator Recertification Exam 
Effective Date: 01/15/2011 Revision Date: July 1, 2024 
Authority: Code of VA: §§ 46.2-1503.4, 46.2-1506.1, 46.2-1586, and 46.2-1589  

Policy: Virginia DMV is authorized to administer the Motor Vehicle Dealer Board (MVDB) Dealer-Operator Recertification 
exam. 
<<<<<REVISION 

• This exam may ONLY be taken by a qualified Independent Dealer - Operator. 
• This exam is only administered in English, using SecuriTest. There is no audio for this exam, and a paper exam is 

not available.   END REVISION>>>>> 
Exception:  N/A 

Return to top of page 

BACKGROUND 
<<<<<REVISION 

Virginia Code requires independent motor vehicle dealer-operators to recertify their dealer operator certificate of qualification 
every 2 years. The MVDB sends a recertification notice to independent dealer-operators in advance of their recertification 
deadline date. 

Independent motor vehicle dealer-operators may recertify their dealer-operator certificate of qualification by either: 
• Completing an Independent Dealer-Operator course of study with an outside vendor, 

OR 
• Passing a Dealer-Operator Recertification exam at DMV. 

• NOTE: The exam is offered on demand, there are no restrictions to the number of exam attempts, and the $50 fee is 
paid each exam attempt. END REVISION>>>>> 

IMPORTANT: Do not confuse the independent dealer-operator recertification exam in this procedure with dealer-operator 
qualification testing for first-time dealer-operator licenses (refer to VLIC-7.005). 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter15/section46.2-1503.4/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter15/section46.2-1506.1/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter15/section46.2-1586/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter15/section46.2-1589/
https://ps1.dmv.virginia.gov/intranet/manuals/vlic/vlic7005.pdf
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Determining the Correct Dealer-Operator Test 
Independent Dealer-Operator 

Recertification  
(Follow guidelines in this procedure (VLIC-

7.010)) 

Dealer-Operator Qualification Testing 
(Follow guidelines in VLIC-7.005) 

Independent Dealer-Operators (IDOs) Independent Dealer-Operators (IDOs) Franchise-Dealer Operator 

Applicant for Recertification Testing Must: 
<<<<<REVISION 

• Already hold a valid independent dealer-
operator (IDO) qualification and be due for 
recertification (every 2 years) 

• Submit the MVDB 57 to DMV at time of 
testing 

• Show a valid driver’s license or other DMV 
approved photo ID 

• Pay to DMV the qualification test fee 
• Take the 100 question Independent Dealer-

Operator Recertification test  
 

NOTE: This test can be taken as many times as 
necessary, but the customer must pay the 
exam fee before each attempt.  END 
REVISION>>>>>.  

Applicant for IDO Qualification Must: 
• Prior to coming to DMV, take and pass the 

outside 2-day study course 
• Submit to DMV the Dealer-

Operator/Salesperson Qualification Testing 
Application (MVDB 57) 

• Pay to DMV the qualification test fee 
• Submit a valid photo identification (i.e. 

driver’s license)   
• Take the appropriate test: 

o Independent Dealer-Operator test (“I”-
80 questions)-for applicants who hold a 
current Salesperson’s license 
OR 

o Combined Dealer/Salesperson (“C”-100 
questions) for applicants with no current 
Salesperson’s license    

NOTE: Test can be retaken as many times as 
desired provided the fee is paid each time. The 
MVDB 57 may be submitted two times.  

Applicant for FDO Qualification Must: 
IMPORTANT: No outside course is required for 
franchised dealer qualifications. 
• Submit to DMV the Dealer-

Operator/Salesperson Qualification Testing 
Application (MVDB 57) 

• Pay to DMV the qualification test fee 
• Submit a valid photo identification (i.e. driver’s 

license) 
• Take the appropriate test: 

o Franchise Dealer-Operator test (“F”-80 
questions)-for applicants who hold a 
current Salesperson’s license 
OR 

o Combined Dealer/Salesperson (“C”-100 
questions) for applicants with no current 
Salesperson’s license    

NOTE: Test can be retaken as many times as 
desired provided the fee is paid each time. The 
MVDB 57 may be submitted two times. 

 

Return to top of page 

CUSTOMER REQUIREMENTS 
<<<<<REVISION 

1. Present the “Dealer Operator/Salesperson Qualification Test Application” (MVDB 57).     END REVISION>>>>> 

2. Present a valid photo ID issued by a U.S. state, jurisdiction, or territory. 

3. Pay test fee. 

a. The test fee is non-refundable. 
4. Comply with exam requirements in the test area. 

Return to top of page 

FRONT COUNTER CSR 
<<<<<REVISION 

1. Collect the “Dealer Operator/Salesperson Qualification Test Application” (MVDB 57) and a valid photo ID. 
• If the customer does not have a valid photo ID, do not initiate the exam.  

2. Compare and verify name and photo on the customer’s license with person presenting the MVDB 57.                   
END REVISION>>>>> 

3. Initiate the qualification transaction in the system. 

4. Collect the test fee. 

a. The test fee is non-refundable and required with each attempt. 

Return to top of page 

https://ps1.dmv.virginia.gov/intranet/manuals/vlic/vlic7010.pdf
https://ps1.dmv.virginia.gov/intranet/manuals/vlic/vlic7010.pdf
https://ps1.dmv.virginia.gov/intranet/manuals/vlic/vlic7005.pdf
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/sites/default/files/forms/mvdb57.pdf
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/pdf/mvdb57.pdf
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/pdf/mvdb57.pdf
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/sites/default/files/forms/mvdb57.pdf
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/sites/default/files/forms/mvdb57.pdf
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KNOWLEDGE TESTING CSR PROCESS 
1. Call customer to examiner console. 

2. Verify exam to be administered with customer. 

<<<<<REVISION 

3. Compare and verify name and photo on the customer’s license with person presenting the “Dealer 
Operator/Salesperson Qualification Test Application” (MVDB 57).   END REVISION>>>>> 

• If the customer does not have a valid driver’s license or identification card, do not administer the exam. 
Advise customer that a valid government issued photo identification driver’s license is required to take the 
exam. END REVISION>>>>> 

4. Review exam testing area requirements with the customer.  
• Must not use a cell phone in exam area. 
• Must not leave the test area for any reason.    
• Must not use notes or any reference material during the exam.  
• Must not seek assistance with exam from anyone other than a DMV employee.  
• Must not talk during the exam. 
• No audio or written options exist for this exam. 

<<<<<REVISION 
5. Once the customer has finished the exam, complete the DMV section of the MVDB 57: 

a. If the customer PASSES the exam.  
i. Recall the transaction and record the test results. 
ii. On the MVDB 57, write the date, “Passed” and stamp and initial the form.  
iii. Inform the customer that they will receive additional correspondence from the MVDB. 
iv. Return the MVDB 57, “Certificate of Qualification” receipt, and photo ID to the customer.  

b. If the customer FAILS the exam:  
i. Recall the transaction and record the test results. 
ii. Stamp and initial the MVDB 57 and write “Failed”. 
iii. Advise the customer the exam can be taken as many times as the customer wants, and a $50 fee 

is paid at each attempt.  
iv. Return the MVDB 57 and photo ID to the customer. 

NOTE: The MVDB 57 may be reused once if the customer wishes to retake the examination. After 
the second use, the customer must complete a new MVDB 57.   END REVISION>>>>> 

Return to top of page 

POINTS TO REMEMBER 
• MVDB determines and notifies those dealers who are required to recertify. 

<<<<<REVISION 
• This exam is offered in English only. There is no audio for this exam and a written exam is not available. 
• The exam recertification exam fee is collected by DMV, not by the MVDB. This fee is non-refundable.    
• Applicant must submit the MVDB 57 and a valid photo ID to be eligible to test. 

o If the customer does not a valid photo ID, do not administer the exam.   END REVISION>>>>> 

Return to top of page 

RELATED LINKS 
Motor Vehicle Dealer Board 
Independent Dealer-Operator Recertification Program 

Return to top of page 

CONTACT 
For additional information contact: 

• Your CSC Manager/Assistant Manager 
• Education & Compliance Specialist, Motor Vehicle Dealer Board (804) 367-1100. 

Return to top of page 

PROCEDURE PROPONENT 
• Motor Vehicle Dealer Board 
• Customer Service Management Administration (CSMA) 

Return to top of page 

https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/sites/default/files/forms/mvdb57.pdf
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/sites/default/files/forms/mvdb57.pdf
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/sites/default/files/forms/mvdb57.pdf
http://www.mvdb.virginia.gov/
http://www.mvdb.virginia.gov/dealer-operators/recertification.aspx
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